Simple Thoughts #2:Upcycled Decorative Solar Garden Light

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit friends :
ض.png
My son's ceiling fan died so he had to replace it ~ but not until I cannibalized it!
One of the pieces I kept was the globe.
Do I make a bird feeder, planter...so many ideas.
Then I thought what a way to use up some of ALL those glass gems I keep ending up with.
It seems at yard, garage, thrifts, estate, etc. sales, a lot of the glassware comes filled with these glass gems. It's not the gems I want it what they're in - but they come together.
So they've just been adding up in my supplies.
If you aren't "lucky" to find them this way,
you can always pick some up at the Dollar Store.
The globe
()
The globe, all those glass gems and since this was going outside I used GE Silicone.
Upcycled Decorative Solar Garden Light _ Hometalk.png
Next I roughly drew a Dragonfly and a water lily with a pencil onto the globe.
Upcycled Decorative Solar Garden Light _ Hometalk.png
I had really huge heavy clear ones that I placed around the edge of the globe.
I used tape to hold them in place until they cured.
Upcycled Decorative Solar Garden Light _ Hometalk.png
As you can see the wings didn't turn out like I had (hoped) drawn them.
And the Water Lily was a bust.
So I decided to go with just simple flowers.
The light blue and green I used for the wings are kind of "cats eye" like, not sure if that's the right term. They have a shape in a darker shade, inside. A leaf shape maybe. Anyway I thought maybe that would help make the wings more "dragonfly" like.
Upcycled Decorative Solar Garden Light _ Hometalk.png
I filled in the background on the top with clear gems and pale peach on the bottom.
Wishing I had some pale blue for the bottom to represent water, but oh well, I was using up what I had.
I'm happy with the way it turned out ~ not bad for my first time doing this type of thing :)
It didn't take long to make and was easy. The hardest part was waiting for it to cure - luckily it was a rather flatish surface, so not much trouble with the gems sliding off, except for the huge ones along the edge.
Upcycled Decorative Solar Garden Light _ Hometalk.png
I removed the light itself and placed it under the globe, stuck in the ground just a bit..
Was not too happy with the darker spot in the middle.
I snagged a globe solar from another area in my garden.
Due to the different style, I needed to drive the entire "holder/stake" into the ground.
Upcycled Decorative Solar Garden Light _ Hometalk.png
The globe just lights the center :(
Not strong enough ~ Disappointing
Upcycled Decorative Solar Garden Light _ Hometalk.png
So I guess it's back to the cheapy solar, unless I find something else down the road. It's actually growing on me :)
For more info and what I've since used more glass gems on (trying to use them up!) check out: http://dragonflytreasure.blogspot.com/2017/07/upcycled-decorative-solar-garden-light.html

Sort:  

Congratulations @christina1! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58334.82
ETH 2595.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40