Miniature Art Show Submission: Ten 3"x3" Acrylic Paintings for Charity

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Local gallery Rosette Studios is holding one of my favorite shows next month, the Miniature Art Show! It's been a tradition in my city for years now starting out as a post-it show. Artists are asked to create 3"x3" pieces of art to be sold at $5 each to make the art affordable for anyone, and anyone can enter regardless of age or background in art. I've participated the last three years and have also been collecting artwork from the show as well! Here are my treasures from last year:

Rosette Studios_Miniature Art Show spoils.jpg
First column: Mikaela Kershaw, Eric Ray; Second Column: HE Croan, Chad Woody, Kendle Durden ; Third Column: Christine Riutzel, Mary Evelyn Tucker

mini art show walls2.jpg

Each show there is a charity that receives part of the proceeds. Last year we supported CARE, a no-kill rescue and animal shelter so I drew some Internet famous pets (see below). This year we are raising money and awareness for Queen City Rock Camp. QCRC is a week-long day camp for girls ages 9 to 18 with the mission "to provide a safe and supportive environment where young women can work together to build self confidence through music."

IMG_2806.JPG
My submissions from last year

I picked up the archival quality paper bundle the gallery gave out. While in the past it was a "post-it" show and the artwork had to be done on post-it paper, the new owners want higher quality paper so the artwork lasts. It is certainly nicer to work on and I feel better about putting more time into my pieces.

paper bundle.jpg

I decided to use this show as an opportunity to create some color studies for possible larger paintings. Taking off from my last series, I'm combining multiple images (photos from the NASA gallery, landscapes, and details of flowers) in the confines of geometry. First, I started out by drawing my shapes:

minis_in progress_drawing.jpg

I spent about four days working on these consistently. Pretty addicting really. I loved that because they are so tiny and my smallest brush still couldn't achieve the details I would normally push for, it made me feel better about keeping them a bit more abstracted and was more able to focus on color.

Snapchat_minis in progress.jpg

Here are my results!

set of 4_3_christie snelson.jpg

set of 4_1_christie snelson.jpg

set of 4_1Christie snelson.jpg

Which one is your favorite??

full set_miniature art_color studies_rosette studios_christie snelson.jpg

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

www.christiesnelson.com

Sort:  

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag ocd-resteem. Three posts using this tag will be chosen each day by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

@Ocd now has a witness, please vote for @ocd-witness to help support other undervalued authors!

You may certainly welcome to share it. Thank you :)

Your colors are amazing, i like the shape of triangle more than pyramid.
seems awesome professional logo. up vote.

Thank you! The triangle is my favorite too. Already started a larger painting of one :)

@christiesnelson I love your artwork!!!! so much... esp the galaxy and dogs' painting... [big animal lover here!]

Thank you! I painted pet commissions for a large part of my career, they're fun! I've been focusing more on my creative works lately which is where the space theme is coming in :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26