Landscape Paintings: Hanging out on the side of a mountain with my brushes

in #art7 years ago

One of my most favorite ways to paint is en plein air.

En plein air (French pronunciation: ​[ɑ̃ plɛn ɛːʁ], French for outdoors, or plein air painting) is the act of painting outdoors.

While I don't get out of the studio as much as I might like to, there are several reasons why I love it so much.

It challenging, and you don't get any better by not challenging yourself! Finding your composition or scope of your painting is one thing. I've found bringing a view finder or even taking a picture on your phone to better understand how you will fit the scene onto your canvas or painting surface is a good way to start. I like to change the true proportions sometimes for a more interesting composition or to fit in all the important elements that I can.

It's also difficult with changing shadows and light with the passing clouds and the setting sun. I was discussing this with a woman from my drawing group and she says it's called "chasing the light." I travelled to Colorado last year to paint the mountains and quickly realized I was going to have to change my usual value-driven starting process because I could see for miles across some of the expanses I was looking over and the lighting was changing moment by moment. Here was my first view. This is in Arapaho National Forest. My mom and I (she's an artist too!) laid down blanket and set up our easels. It was amazing.

IMG_9021.JPG

You also have fun things happen like being rained on and hearing guns shots too close for comfort.

Arapaho National Forest_Christie Snelson.jpg

That's a photo I took when I realized we were about to feel some precipitation, and I inevitably had to put on my finishing touches when I got back to the studio. I used acrylics and finished with oils when I got back.

Grand Lake_Christie Snelson.jpg

Here's another stop at Grand Lake before entering Rocky Mountain National Park. I decided to play with my colors more than values to start with my new knowledge from my previous spot. I like exaggerating color anyway :)

Painting outdoors also is an awesome way to strike up some conversations. I love that people are curious and ask me questions when they see me. At this spot I had a number of chats with different people.

Here are a few more shots of some spots I've painted at.

Shiloh Acres_Christie SNelson.jpg

This is out at my dad's property. I've painted and sketched out there a number of times just waiting on laundry! This is one of my last attempts in oils because I spilled paint thinner all over me here. I strictly paint with acrylics as opposed to my oils now when I'm outdoors because of the mess and toxicity oils present. Acrylics allow me to be more present-minded with my subject because I'm less concerned about getting paint or paint thinner everywhere.

Berkely Riverfront Park_Kansas City_Painting_Christie Snelson.jpg

Waiting for a friend to get off work in Kansas City at Berkley Riverfront Park. Good thing I brought my plein air backpack!

Phelps Grove Park_plein air_painting.jpg

Meeting new art friends at Phelps Grove in Springfield, MO.

No white_Elise_Plein Air_Christie SNelson.jpg

Pet sitting? Might as well bust out a mini while I'm out at a beautiful property feeding the animals. I didn't have any white paint with me! Had to rely on yellow and premixed aqua for lightening.

Car painting_clouds_Christie SNelson.jpg

Driving across Kansas in the passenger seat? Seems like a great time to paint those beautiful clouds. That's kind of outside, yeah?

I need to start plotting my next spot!

Thanks for looking!
-Christie

Sort:  

Outstanding artwork! Thank you for sharing.

My pleasure! A fellow artist, I see! I'll be following along :)

I'll be posting a painting I'm about to finish in a couple hours.

I'll be watching yours also. Have a great day!

beautiful paintings.
Upvoted. :)

Thanks so much! Your recipes look awesome!! Following!!

nice to be able to sit outside in the nice weather and return home with something unique to remind you of the moment

keep up the good work

I'd appreciate your thoughts on my paltry attempt at art...

Absolutely! That first one I had for sale at first, but I decided to keep it because it reminds me of such an awesome time with my mom. You have a knack, sir. You can certainly tell you enjoy it. I really like where you're going with the watercolor and ink combinations!

thanks....it has been fun...I'll have to take a bit of time away from art to do some traveling and find a new job...my paintings sad to say can't pay the bills...

actually wouldn't want them to - that would force me to produce versus just to create when the feelings hit me....

Having fun is what it's about!! And I absolutely agree, that's one of the biggest downfalls of paying bills with it. I was just telling another Steemian the other day that the pressure can be debilitating. A large part of my job is trying to summon those creative feelings as much as I can. Little brain hacks if you will. But I tell ya what, it can be pretty exhausting.

It seems every time I attempt to do a similar piece for someone that appreciated one of my art pieces the second one never comes close in quality or impact.....guess I'll stick to my normal trend of painting when the mood hits me...seems to come out better that way....of course I've been pretty active since 2014...so plenty to post even if I don't get to paint for awhile...

Fantastic work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57