Help me decide on a theme: Chalk & Art Festival

in #art7 years ago

I'm in my last stretch preparing for the 2nd Annual Chalk & Arts Festival this weekend. Last year I chalked Albert Einstein because he was such an influential person and I had wanted to recreate him in some way for some time.

chalk walk einstein christie snelson.jpg

Chalk Walk_Einstein_Christie Snelson.jpg

Last year I won People's Choice Award, and actually today I was in the paper with this piece promoting the weekend's event! Too exciting!

chalk and arts festival einstein.jpg

This year, I'd like my piece to fit a theme. Because the event to raise awareness and benefit FosterAdopt Connect SWMO, I thought I'd find a portrait of someone that was in foster care. After some research, so far I've come to the conclusion to chalk Marilyn Monroe this year. I had no idea she was raised in foster care.

I thought I'd go for the classic Andy Warhol reference:

Marilyn reference.jpg

I'm not 100% sold on this idea, so I'd love to hear your two cents!

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulation on last year's win. You have a great approach to the art. I think you are right on with thinking of doing Marilyn Monroe. And I never knew she grew up in adoption home either.

Best of luck (more skill than​ luck) this coming weekend. I will follow you to see how it all goes. I also will resteem this.

Thank you, David! :) I'm planning on making a time-lapse video of it that I will be sharing here. I could use some luck too, it's gonna be hot out on that pavement!

Can't wait to see it. OK, I'm sending you some luck too.

How about this famous photograph?

Oh man! That is a great photo! If I had more time I'd totally be into it, but I have to keep it simple with just a face.

+10 for Chalk!
wow, very talented artist!

Wow. You are such a talented artist! Congrats on the achievement. No matter what you decide I believe you will be leading too.

Thank you so much!! Stay tuned for the finished product!

Can't wait. :) thanks

You are very very talented person, with a kind heart and beautiful as well! followed,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61947.52
ETH 3004.68
BNB 541.30
SBD 2.47