Dawn Treader Final Painting

in #art7 years ago

Another project that I finished was the Dawn Treader commission I had shared with you guys while it was in progress several months back from the Narnia series. It's one of the pieces happening at the same time I was working on "Perspectives." I'm quite happy with the outcome, but of course I could have worked on details forever. It's a big one at 48"x24". I started in acrylics and ended with oils.

Jones_Dawn Treader_web.jpg

Some progress shots:

IMG_3802 (2).JPG

IMG_3799 (1).JPG

I used my smart grid technique and drew everything out to minimize mistakes with the large number of details in this piece.

FullSizeRender (32).jpg

My clients were very happy with their product! A buddy I knew in college hired me to paint this for his wife for her birthday. I'm so honored that they chose the mantle in their living room to display it. He even had lights put in. So glad I can provide some color in their lives!

dawntreader_mantle.jpg

dawntreader_xmas.jpg

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

www.christiesnelson.com

Sort:  

dudee i though was made in digital...
Really amazing job

Thanks!! I'm much better with a brush than I am with anything digital.

I really like the contrasting orange and blue

Thank you! I love using complementary colors! They really create a sense of vibrancy.

nicely done! following :)

Thank you!! Traveling artist? Following back :)

Wow, this is amazing! I thought it was a digital work of art when I first saw the post preview image as I was scrolling through the art posts. I love that you included some of your process as well.

Thank you! Nope, just acrylics and oils with a real brush :) I did use a digital image to use as my reference for the ship, so maybe that translated somehow!

Awesome work, great to see the process! Looking forward to seeing more of your work.

I wrote disney requesting permission to use a collage of their characters for a background for homeschool prom photos. I'd love to use a digital copy of your print. Let me know if that's permissible

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64166.71
ETH 2765.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72