A Nod to Pink Floyd's Back Catalogue: Original Painting on Canvas

in #art6 years ago

I just got back a professional photograph of one of my most favorite commissions to date! I don't have the gear to make large prints of large paintings, so when my client wants them I pass the work to a local printing company that does great work! It's nice to have quality photos of my work like this in my archive!

Gann_Image1 from TCI.jpg

This is a commission from a group of girls that have nurtured a close bond into a sisterhood and wanted a painting to represent that. They gave me a couple of reference photos that they had taken before one of the girl's weddings. Their idea was a subtle nod to Pink Floyd's iconic back catalogue poster. I took elements that I like from each and merged them together to paint this on a 30"x40" canvas. As usual, I started with acrylics and jumped into oils not long after. I lost track of how many hours I spent on this one.

A bit of the process:

IMG_1714.JPG

IMG_1731.JPG

IMG_1757.JPG

FullSizeRender (35).jpg

Gann_On Easel_Christie Snelson.jpg

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

www.christiesnelson.com

Sort:  

i like the tattoo of leftmost girl or woman.

Thanks! Those were fun to paint!

Thanks for the early Christmas present! Did you post your painting based on my photo yet? I'm really excited to see it!

You are so welcome! It's mostly done, but I'd like to make a couple more touch-ups :) I'll be making a post soon!

Excellent! Please let me know so I can upvote it properly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71353.04
ETH 3819.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51