My Drawing of the Philippine Phenominal Star: Maine Mendoza - with step by step process!

in #art6 years ago

IMG_20180306_202256.jpg

Maine Mendoza


When she started appearing in Eat Bulaga, I fell in love with her. She has a very good aura in television perfect for the ambiance of my favorite noon time show.

I love how she distorts and make fun of her face to entertain people. She is also a very effective dubsmasher. Something that is really unique from a very adorable and charming lady.

I was one of the Aldub Nation who contributed a lot to make their tandem trend in twitter. Yes, I was one with the Philippine nation. In fact, I supported her more than the fight of Manny Pacquiao, if I'm allowed to compare.

I am her forever fan, I am proud to be AlDub Nation!


I started making fan art of Maine Mendoza long time ago. See my previous drawings of my girl...


I have started drawing Maine when she was very trending on social media. This is my very old sketch of her. If you notice, I still do not know what I am doing. The lines are done very bad. But, I was very proud before to post this on facebook. I really thought this drawings looked very good. Hahaha
1520340414939.jpeg

This is another drawing of Maine Mendoza. She played Yaya Dub in the Kalyeserye segment of Eat Bulaga. In the drawing she is doing a pabebe wave. This wave was very trending in Facebook. They used it as their profile pictures. I had my share of this phenomenon, too!
1520340391487.jpeg

The photo below was my profile picture in facebook when this Pabebe Wave took the internet whole.
FB_IMG_1520341247589.jpg

Another Pabebe Wave pose with my students.
FB_IMG_1520341242138.jpg

Now going back to my drawings... here's my drawing of her last year. I really think my drawing skill improved. I think of this as very close to the reference. Is she lovely?
1520340464433.jpeg

So, the purpose why I am showing you my previous drawings of Maine Mendoza is that I want to show you how loyal I am as her fan. Also, I want to show you how I improved through the years as a self-taught artist. I know I have still a lot to learn, but I am just happy taking my own pace.


The New Drawing Process

For this art, I used the following:

  • Faber Castell Colored Pencils
  • Vellum Board
  • Eraser

I started outlining my drawing using a pencil. Here, I made sure that my hands held the pencil lightly so that I won't be able to create dark heavy lines on my drawing. That is always the rule that I follow, light lines for easy adjustments and erasing.
IMG_20180227_222709.jpg

Then, I did the beautiful and charming eyes of Maine Mendoza. I really want to describe her eyes so that I can translate it correctly in my drawing. Tip: know your subject very well. So, for her eyes, I closely look at the reference so that I can use the appropriate color for her eyes. However, if you lack some resources you can always use alternatives. Just let your creativity fly!
IMG_20180227_224924.jpg

After her eyes, I started working on a half of her face and her hair. I know I still have to improve myself in drawing the hair. But, I still believe I did good. I always make sure that I give compliments and appreciation to myown art.
IMG_20180228_052937.jpg

Then, I continued doing the other half of the face of Maine Mendoza. I think this was the best and the most challenging part. It was the best part because I often glanced to my reference picture and she is so pretty and adorable. It was also the most challenging part because I have to look closely with the details. One wrong detail and this drawing would be ruined.
IMG_20180228_054842.jpg

Then, I started working on the other half of the hair. I hope people who are very professional in drawibg realistic drawings can give me a helpful tip to improve my skill in drawing the hair.
IMG_20180228_055908.jpg

Then, I worked on the neck and the collarbones of Maine Mendoza. I used skin colors. The choice of color is very important here. If you choose a wrong color, expect that you will surely be in trouble. So, I suggest to the amateur artist like me to really use the appropriate colors for such output.
IMG_20180306_200807.jpg

Finally, we are down to the last part which is the photo taking. So, here is my final output. I hope you like this drawing.
IMG_20180306_202019.jpg


Again, thank you for dropping by my Art Blog! Please do not forget to upvote and resteem this if you liked it. If you have comments, suggestions and reactions, please feel free to express them in the comment section. See you!


Logopit_1519716196550.jpg

Sort:  

Wow you nailed it! Ilike maine Mendoza too because of her good personality in EB :)

Many really loves her. Good to know an AlDuB here.

See you again next time. Thanks!

Nice work. Congratulations on a beautiful creation. Looking forward to seeing more of your work in the future.

Thank you. Stay tuned!

8B9DA349-6C7E-44D9-9CAF-B6D24E25A766.jpeg
Your colored pencil drawing is gorgeous, and your right so is the girl! Loved the way you kept these drawings throughout the years and created this story. Amazing story teller @christiancyocte. I posted this portrait drawing that I did years ago with colored pencils. It’s my favorite medium to work with also. I do a lot with layering colors so it kind of looks like a painting! I use the Derwent brand pencils, they have like an oily base to them that’s why I can achieve this effect. I also use a knead eraser to lift the colors up off the papers if I need to, but if you layer of course you’ve found out unfortunately it’s impossible right? I took a picture of it, it’s hanging in my front room wall. Sorry about the reflections. I just wanted you to see how we have this in common. May God bless you in all you Do, your a real beautiful person inside and out! Love your art❣️

Thank you so much! Wow you really are so good in colored pencils too!

Hehehe its really very clear that i am just a beginner in this. But i am very proud of my progress and my fandom throughout the years.

Thanks for showing your art @lildebbiecakes. Your works are so impressive. You are absolutely a professional artist. And hearing all these from you, I am very very happy. Thank you so much for the encouragement. I know I still have so many things to learn. I just use colored pencils this year... Hahaha... I dont know how to do layering and all. I just bought a kneaded eraser which I did not know existed. Hahaha...

I am truly grateful to God above that I have found friendship from you. You are also a great person....

Lovely @christianyocte, You’re portraits are really, really good ! The eyes are perfectly balanced, and that’s not easy, there spot on lined up. Exceptional work, if you can draw the eyes of the person exactly, then you’ve mastered it. How you drew it step by step was perfect also. If you’re a right handed, and I believe you are because of the way you drew this, you’d always want to start drawing your portraits at the left upper hand side of the page as you did. It’s always good especially if your drawing with graphite so that your hand won’t slide across your drawing to smug it. Very good technique there. Also I bet you might have used a #2 Pencil to lightly sketch out your drawing, perfect. Every thing drawn from left to right, perfect. I gradually got a lot better and acquired much more wisdom throughout my 58 years of living. And I’m learning more and more everyday. Already your amazing with colored pencils. Steemits art community has helped me out to with this Digital art . Never even new how to do anything on a iPad 3 months ago. I believe nothing compares to my colored pencils and real paint . Your such a sweet person and a bother in Christ you’ve touched my heart friend, so here is my thank you friendship heart that I’ve created and I give it to you. Thank you, and keep spreading the love❣️9E0D6021-D20E-4742-B20B-45EF23CCF85E.jpeg

Thank you very much for your kind words. My heart is really melting. You are one of the greatest person I know here.

I'll constantly pray for you and your family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67917.78
ETH 3516.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72