Asset Class

in #art7 years ago

Asset Class.jpg

This is a painting I made to talk about this financial concept around Asset Class. I was really intrigued by the idea of Art setting record prices and the discussion about worth and art has been in the process of being referred to as an asset rather than art. As a painter I find this notion interesting as the public can speculate in the art market which is truly unregulated and much like the stock market sentiment driven.
I create art it is considered inventory and when it sells it transitions into the asset class of the buyer. Money creates the transition as worth has been placed on it. It is out of my hands and can be sold and resold.
This piece will be included in the Fraser Valley Biennale hosted at The Reach Gallery and Museum this fall.
This piece is mixed media, oil paint, epoxy, spray paint, graphite, gesso on canvas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57668.08
ETH 2381.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42