Encouraging Reading

in #art7 years ago (edited)

BA01FB7C-EC1A-4FE6-90F2-6A469E656861.jpeg
E68C9DC3-6D01-456C-8956-B672D1AC89D7.png
I drew this to encourage kids to read more.

Here are facts about Literacy in America.

  1. 2/3 of students who cannot read proficiently by the end of 4th grade will end up in jail or on welfare. Over 70% of America’s inmates cannot read above a 4th grade level.

  2. 1 in 4 children in America grow up without learning how to read.

  3. Students who don't read proficiently by the 3rd grade are 4 times likelier to drop out of school. Start a badass book club to keep your peers reading.

  4. As of 2011, America was the only free-market OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development) country where the current generation was less educated than the previous one.

  5. Nearly 85% of the juveniles who face trial in the juvenile court system are functionally illiterate, proving that there is a close relationship between illiteracy and crime. More than 60% of all inmates are functionally illiterate.

if you like the post please upvote, resteem and follow me for more content like this.
I really appreciate the support

Sort:  

Well done sir, love it ! Big fan of Josh Middleton and I see a similar brilliance here : ) Following.

Great comparison. I hadn’t put it together but totally see it too now. I love Middleton’s lines and especially his color palettes!

Thank you, i appreciate the comparison. He’s definitely one of my favorites. I’m glad my style resembles his, that’s good company to be in.🙂

Nicely done! I'm trying to teach my 5-year-old to read. I get him workbooks and flashcards, etc. Recently he looked at me in despair, "Dad, why do you keep getting me things with words in them?"

😂 your a good dad. It’s like that old saying “you might not like me now, but your gonna love me later” lol. 5 years old is the perfect age to start learning how to read.

This is Angelo Borg from youtube thanks for confirming your blog to me. you have my support. You are solid good man.

Thanks for looking out for me. I really appreciate it. I would hate for someone to plagiarize my stuff.
I subscribed to you on YouTube and I followed you on steemit as well.🙂

There is lot of things to learn from you, me and everyone else.

Great artwork and a great message!

Thanks Brian. I appreciate you taking the time to check out my stuff.
Upvoted and followed you. 🙂

No thanks needed, really digging your stuff! Glad you joined Steem. If you have any Steem related questions, don’t hesitate to ask. There can be a bit of a learning curve to all this and while I don’t know everything, I’d be more than happy to help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61739.92
ETH 2432.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65