Art Curriculum for the End of a Millennium (1995), by Don Gray

in #art6 years ago
 Course offerings  developed in cooperation with artists, educators, critics, galleries and  museums throughout the nation. Our thanks for their sage counsel and  advice.
 
 Pap I:  In a society immeshed in pap, immersed in pap, saturated by pap and  enveloped by pap, learn how to survive and prosper in a world of pap.  Learn to think pap, produce pap and sell pap of your own. You have a  constitutional right to profit from pap. Learn how.
 
 Schmoozing I and II:  The real truth of how to succeed in art has nothing to do with talent,  originality or creativity. Suck up. Kiss up. Butter up gallery  directors, curators, critics and collectors. Learn to speak their  language. Talk dollars and saleable formulas, not serious aesthetics or  human meaning. Display an eagerness to aspire to the heights of bad  taste they have already achieved. Successful schmoozing of your  professor will result in an "A."
 
 Arrogance I: Come to fully believe that whatever you touch, do or think - no matter how perniciously meaningless - is blessed by divinity.
 
 Figure Drawing I and II; Figure Painting I and II:  Dropped from the curriculum. No longer deemed important for the  development of artists and their understanding of art. Replaced by  Cleverness I and Artifice II; Dribbling I and Splatting II.
 
 Cleverness I: Prerequisite Arrogance I: Develop the ability to overcome any natural tendency toward genuine artistic expression or thought.

The full article by Don Gray is HERE.

Sort:  

These courses you cannot just get anywhere these days.

I think real recorded lectures on these topics would be hilarious AND educational.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60699.16
ETH 2352.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52