You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When something is missing - original artwork by @mayasky

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Sometimes in my own work, it's not what's missing, but what needs to be eliminated or subdued. If you'll permit me: when I look at this painting, my eyes keep wanting to look at the knobs (or whatever they're called) on the chair. They "fight" with your main focal area, your face. The chair is important to the design, but maybe it needs softening by bringing the cast shadow on the wall up behind them or some other means. Just a suggestion. Edit: yes, I get stuck with a lot of my work. I put them aside in a "work on" stack so I can look at them with a fresh eye later. Usually, I'll see what needs to be done. Hope all of this helps!

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment @chessmonster! :) You have some great points about the chair! I will for sure try some softening to get some of the focus away. Thank you again for your input, very helpful indeed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55