"Oak Creek" (watercolor)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

A recent watercolor of Oak Creek, Sedona, Arizona.


”Oak Creek” 7"x9" (#3397) watercolor on Arches
by Lee Gordon Seebach


Can Someone Explain This?



I'm definitely not complaining. I'm just wondering....

I keep getting more and more followers - 809 right now - and yet the views, upvotes, and payouts remain about the same from month to month. I don't get it.

I would think (with my artist-brain) that with increased followers, everything else would increase, too. But it doesn't seem to work that way. Why is that? Any ideas?

Have an amazing, productive day, my fellow Steemsters!

From New Mexico, this is @chessmonster aka Lee

Freedom 😀 Peace ☮️ Love ❤️ Happy Painting 🎨

UPVOTE and FOLLOW @chessmonster for more artworks and Pro-Art-Tips

by Lee Gordon Seebach.

My website: Seebach Fine Art


Sign up for my absolutely FREE email newsletter, sent out every other Sunday
(100% money-back guarantee) 😉


Happy Dolphin courtesy of @keepdoodling - one of my favorite Steemians!

Sort:  

I think I've answered my own question, after thinking about it today: the quality of the Steemit platform is only as good as the quality of the people using it.

Steemit is a great idea with great potential. However, in my case, only a handful of my followers are quality followers.

well done!

this painting is what I needed to see today. gentle, subtle, natural. thank you chessmonster.

btw, everyone is getting a stupid amount of followers lately.. seems suspicious.

Glad to hear it, @claritypavilion And thanks for the feedback.

Great watercolor painting @chessmonster. I've found that it's not the amount of followers, but the amount of loyal follower you have! For a while, I ignored viewing the post from the followers I already had in search of new ones. I've switched that mind set, and now I just want to start upvoting post from the current people I follow to build lasting relationships, and occasionally seek new followers if I don't like the content in my current feed. Hope this helps.

Thank you @michael14876 Yes, I've found that, too, regarding loyal followers. I've never gotten excited about the number of followers I have because of that. It's the quality that counts. It's those who appreciate my posts and upvote that count, and the network of friends and supporters we create. Followers merely get posts in their feeds, but if they are inactive or don't read the posts and appreciate them, they're meaningless to the blogger.

I'm on Steemit because it's the best platform I've found to promote my art, to share my images with the network, and hopefully that will lead to getting more art into art collections. The small payout is nice, of course, but I have a larger view: I want my work "out there."

Thanks for your thoughtful comment.

I guess most of the followers would be inactive right now...
even I have 500+ followers but all I got on steemit till now is shit...xD

@hamet123 Thanks for your feedback. If they're inactive, they've been inactive for a long time as I've been noticing this for weeks and weeks. After a year on Steemit, it has been a long, hard trek to establish my reputation, following, account, Steem Power, etc.

I have a suspicion that most of my followers are newbies who follow expecting to be followed back, and were never interested in my blog in the first place. I'm actually very picky who I follow because I want it to mean something.

Edit: I wish there was some way to delete them from my following! That'll teach 'em. LOL

That really good art loving it
and BTW the followers keep on increasing
i guess even if we don't post

Thanks @blazing Yes, and only a handful of them are interested. The rest just hope for a return follow, I guess. I don't play that game, though. I only follow those I'm really interested in.

Thank you for sharing this outstanding information!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72