"Jerome Composition No. 4"

in #art8 years ago (edited)

The town of Jerome is situated on the side of Cleopatra Hill in the Mingus Mountains in north central Arizona. Once a wild west copper mining town, it is now something of an artist colony and a popular tourist attraction. It is a lovely, lovely place, and while I lived in that area for a total of seven years (off and on), I did many paintings of Jerome on location and from my own reference photos.

”Jerome Composition No. 4” 22”x30” (#3011) watercolor on Arches by Lee Gordon Seebach

In the early 1980s, when I did quite a lot of my work in Jerome, there were ruins everywhere it seemed. Recently, as I wandered around town, I observed that most of the ruins I once knew are gone and many of the old houses have been remodeled. It is still a charming place, however.

I found this subject by stepping inside one of the roofless ruins. I loved the way the foliage was growing into the doorway with Cleopatra Hill sloping up and away from the building, creating cool greens. I also liked the textures and colors of the walls.

I hope you enjoy seeing this painting.

More to come,

Lee

My website: Seebach Fine Art

Free bi-weekly email newsletter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55350.11
ETH 2887.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27