"Jemez River" Step-By-Step

in #art8 years ago

My step-by-step procedure for creating full sheet (22"x30") watercolors

Watercolor is a very demanding, difficult medium. In fact, it has been called "the master's medium," and a 22"x30" sheet of paper is quite a challenge to pull off successfully. Because of this, I use a step-by-step procedure to increase my odds of success.

Here's the finished painting.....

Everything starts with an idea and going through my reference photos, I got excited about this image and thought I could do something with it...

My Steps

To get started, I did a value study in graphite pencil 1/16 the size of the full sheet - measuring 5.5"x7.5" - to work out my design.

I then made an 11"x15" study in watercolors (1/4 the size of the final painting) to work out the colors I wanted to use...

Then, referring to the photo on my iMac screen, the value study, and the color study, I was ready to start the large painting. However, the first three steps are like preparing for the Super Bowl: I still have to play the real game! And that means thinking on my feet as the painting progresses. For one thing, a larger area requires more entertainment and explanation for the eye. A simple brushstroke or two on the color study might suffice to indicate a feature, but on the large surface, it would require much more to make it work.


"Jemez River" 22"x30" watercolor on Arches by Lee Gordon Seebach

I hope this post helps artists who might like to use these ideas in their own work.

If you'd like further explanation on these steps, here's a YouTube video about another full sheet painting I did.

More to come,

Lee

https://www.leegordonseebach.com
Subscribe to my bi-weekly newsletter https://leegordonseebach.com/email-newsletter

Sort:  

Fantastic, thanks for sharing the process. Hard to believe it's watercolor.

Really nailed the layering/shadows in the focus rock I think, very nice work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43