"Indian Pottery and Corn"

in #art8 years ago (edited)

I once had the opportunity to do some studio-sitting for my artist-friend, Rod Goebel, while he was painting in Spain for six months. He needed someone to look after his large Taos home, garden, and studio while he was away so I cheerfully volunteered. He had a massive studio with north light and many still life objects, including these old pots, ears of Indian corn and rugs.

”Indian Pottery and Corn” 22”x24” oil on canvas by Lee Gordon Seebach

At the time (1985), I was using loads of paint and applying it with painting knives and large brushes. It was a period of breaking loose from years of painting in a more controlled manner.

I hope you enjoy seeing this!

More to come,

Lee

https://www.leegordonseebach.com
Here’s a link to subscribe to my bi-weekly newsletter https://leegordonseebach.com/email-newsletter

Sort:  

good, and I hope you enjoy my entries

Another lively painting. Using painting knives especially on the pottery emphasizes the rustic feel of this still life. I enjoy your work.

@countrygirl thank you! One important lesson I learned from painting this way: the right color note in the right place creates the illusion of form and the effect of light in a painting. As I experimented with impasto paint applications, as long as those notes were correct and the painting remained fresh and clean (as opposed to becoming a hopeless, muddy mess), I could paint any ole which way I wanted and get away with it. There's a freedom in that which I truly enjoyed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43