"Angel"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Angel is a Percheron draft horse that lived down the road from me in Iowa.

”Angel” 7”x5” (#3307) graphite pencil on smooth Bristol paper by Lee Gordon Seebach

Angel's keeper and my neighbor, Lee Anderson, had another Percheron named Belle. Angel and Belle were a team and I would occasionally see him driving these gorgeous horses past my place, headed for Traer, with his wagon.

If you're not familiar with Percherons, they're huge. They were commonly used in farming in the old days before tractors came along. In fact, the Amish still use them in their farming adventures.

Lee graciously granted me permission to come over anytime to photograph his beautiful horses. Angel and Belle seemed happy to pose for me so I could take reference shots to work from in my studio!

I hope you enjoy seeing this drawing.

More to come,

Lee

(A self portrait in charcoal I made for a class in drawing facial expressions - 2001)

“It is better to light a candle than curse the darkness.” - John F. Kennedy
I see my art as lighting some candles.

My website: Seebach Fine Art

Free bi-weekly email newsletter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78