"Oak Creek"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Oak Creek Canyon, north of Sedona, Arizona.

”Oak Creek” 14”x20” (#3049) watercolor with Chinese White on Arches
by Lee Gordon Seebach

I painted this in transparent watercolor but then came back in with mixtures of Chinese White (opaque) to punch in some cool notes and highlights. I do the same thing with pastels, too, as needed. I am therefore definitely not a transparent watercolor purist. I figure that the art police won't bust down my studio door! To artists who adhere to purism: I think that's cool. But it's also cool to free your mind from such limitations and do whatever the heck you want to do.

I hope you enjoy seeing this painting.

More to come,

Lee

(A self portrait in charcoal I made for a class in drawing facial expressions - 2001)

“It is better to light a candle than curse the darkness.” - John F. Kennedy
I see my art as lighting some candles.

My website: Seebach Fine Art

Free bi-weekly email newsletter

Sort:  

Hey @chessmonster! Clear explanation. Thank you!

very nice!

Very nice and interesting ! @chessmonster

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74