"Apple Core"

in #art7 years ago

”Apple Core” 11"x15"” (#3365) watercolor on Arches paper
by Lee Gordon Seebach


My Sedona Friend



While painting in Oak Creek Canyon (Sedona, Arizona), this squirrel consented to pose for me on a tree branch with his lunch: an apple core that someone discarded. I took a picture, went home, and painted his portrait.

I hope you enjoy seeing this watercolor. It was painted in joy and in celebration of the beauty I find in life.

Have an fabulously beautiful day today and every day!

Liberty 😀 Peace ☮️ Love ❤️


A self-portrait in oil that I painted in 1983.

My website: Seebach Fine Art

Sort:  

Sweet mustache!

Awesome painting!

We did the West Fork trail in Oak Creek Canyon on our way to Sedona last year and it was amazing.

Yes indeed, it's a beautiful trail! Sedona is a magical place.

I was always wondering why chessmonster? You're incredibly good at chess?))

If I were incredibly good at chess, my handle would be chess master instead! ha ha I'm OK at chess and have a rating of about 1365 USCF. I love to study chess master games much more than I like to play, although I have played in some over-the-board tournaments, but not many. Most of my playing has been online. I've run some tournaments as a director at a chess club I ran, too.

meep

As i remember rating:1365 USCF is not bad, almost 1500! Few more steps and you beat Kasparov.)
About painting.. it's the end of the day so i can't find right words to describe exactly what i feel.
Something like that:

I love the first paint chess respect for you and your work man, you have a magic pencil

Thanks for the nice comment @dim753

waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwww amaaaaaaaaaaaazing <3 love it

That squirrel is adorable, haha. I'm gonna show my girlfriend that painting, she will absolutely love it!

Do you still paint in oils recently?

Hi @siloe I haven't painted in oil for quite a long time. Watercolor has been my all-consuming passion, but I miss it and will get my oil stuff out again soon, I think. Steem on!

You are a master with both

@siloe Thank you. I was primarily an oil painter for many years, working from life. That set me up for working in watercolor, I'm sure of it.

Your approach to watercolor is very oil like, so that makes sense

Most watercolorists can't paint in oil because they rely too much on watercolor techniques and tricks. Oil painting requires sound knowledge to pull it off.

Oh my goodness! That squirrel is adorable! Watercolors are my favorite next to pencils.

that's what we call : professional skill of painting ! great one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81