"Rio Hondo"

in #art8 years ago

Painted on location of the Rio Hondo which flows along the road to the Taos Ski Valley, New Mexico.

”Rio Hondo” 24”x30” (#646) oil on canvas by Lee Gordon Seebach

With this painting, I really let loose! Impasto paint applications, large brushes, painting knife work, and lots of fun.

I hope you enjoy seeing this painting.

More to come,

Lee

My website: Seebach Fine Art

Free bi-weekly email newsletter

Sort:  

I like the painting knife!!! what that means I'm not sure :) ...the water "flows".... :) Nice work.

@countrygirl...Thanks! A painting knife is a trowel-like tool. They are available in many shapes and sizes. You can mix up paint on the palette with a painting knife, scoop it up, and apply the pigment to the canvas.

Yes....I used one years ago and it's definitely not my talent but I love the results. I like how you manipulate the colours and how you aren't afraid to use colour. I don't know art "jargon" to you'll please excuse my explanations :)

Oh OK, I get it now. Don't feel too bad, the painting knife is a very difficult tool to learn how to use. It's not like a brush where you have more control. I mostly use it to lay in an area of color that is one simple note, and I want the surface of the paint to be flat. I often then adjust the edges of the knife stroke using a brush. The painting knife is also good for making a very sharp edge. Hope this helps.

It does! You ought to teach if you don't already. Thank you for taking the time to explain.

good, and I hope you enjoy my entries

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67