**Jewelery, my passion! Find your passion*

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Good day all😊 Being brand new on steemit, I wanted my first post to be about one of my passions...jewelry making!
76E04690-C156-4CDB-86CF-D8CA39E2BA09.jpeg
Two winters ago while at my local craft store to grab a few stocking stuffers, I couldn’t help but be amazed by all of the beautiful, sparkly and colourful beads. Having an “ah ha” moment, I quickly filled a basket with beads and string and decided I was going to make jewelry. Being on maternity leave...I needed something that was going to be just for me!

Once my two darlings were tucked in bed and dreaming, I ripped open all of my new packages of bling and started putting beads together. After a few hours I realized I wasn’t getting anywhere, frustrated and not having a clue what I was doing, I threw my bag of goodies in the corner😞.

Sitting back and deciding what to do now...go to bed or open a bag of chips and watch netflix, my huge bottles of mason jars filled to the brim with seaglass caught my eye and began screaming at me! B311A9DD-2DCC-4E8B-9B8A-130668CCA6B8.jpeg

Having these jars for years and never knowing what to do with them. Seaglass jewelry! I love the ocean and love jewelry! Now turning to google and youtube for direction, I spent the next three hours researching designs and making a list of tools I needed to start my new at home small business/hobby.2B1D3757-A51E-478A-9FEB-9A3634703BCB.jpeg

I was a person who ever ever really had a hobby or passion.I tried painting and other forms of art but could never really get into anything. Now I am set up in my own room with tools everywhere, losing weight from keeping my hands busy and meeting amazing people and making new friends at craft fairs...making a little money too!FEA6AC66-B6F3-46A7-A2F0-1C7BBAB548FB.jpeg380ABC4B-6B71-4513-8C38-8DCB416254B1.jpeg

We all are good at something and there is a creative outlet for everyone, sometimes it takes a while to find it that’s all. If you find something that you love but at first you are not great at it...keep trying and you will succeed. It feels so amazing to have something that is uniquely yours. Once you find your passion so many great things can come from it.

However,of course nothing comes easy! I have wasted soooo much wire, blackened fingernails with my hammer, had little pieces of wire in my eyes and have even been at craft fairs in the beginning and came home crying because I didn’t make a penny.

Today after not giving up I am
More confident, happy, made friends with similiar interests, have a daughter with an artistic flair and now have people contacting me to be a vendor at their events!8D13B5E2-521B-4250-BEF4-6C211310CD99.jpeg

The moral of the story is that it is never too late to find your passion...we are all great at something ❤️

Sort:  

Lovely story @cherylann, lots of work goes into your hobby! Worth it in the end though, beautiful pieces :)

i understand how sad those days are after sitting at a market making no sales! it can be really disheartening, those customers that really appreciate your work make it worth while tho, good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43