Drawing in the Galleries at the Detroit Institute of Arts with @kotturinn!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

IMG_1534 2.jpg
Drawing in the Greek and Roman gallery

Yesterday, I had a fun evening with @kotturinn at the Detroit Institute of Arts (DIA). I had no idea the DIA provided so many different events on a Friday night! We had heard about the "Drawing in the Galleries" event and wanted to check it out. We ended up dropping by a concert, a lecture, and the museum's cafe/bar as well!

After walking around the Greek and Roman gallery, as well as the Renaissance gallery, we settled in front of some statues in the Greek and Roman gallery. They had easels set up, small ones for kids and larger ones for adults, and gave everyone a pencil and an eraser. I decided to draw this tiny head.

IMG_1533 2.jpg
Tiny head statue

It's been so long since I've taken the time to just draw. I forgot how lovely it can be to become immersed in the drawing and so focused that you don't notice anything around you. I definitely felt rusty with my drawing skills, and am feeling quite motivated to return the next Friday. I mean, sure, I could go at any time really, but there's something about going at a time when other people are sharing in the same activity.

IMG_1532 2.jpg
My rusty attempt at drawing

IMG_1545 2.jpg

@kotturinn had written 'Steemit' on to her drawing and it sparked some good conversation about Steemit! One of the guys we spoke with is a regular at the drawing nights and was really interested in the platform. He said he'll check it out, so maybe I'll see him next time and get to ask him about it.

After drawing, we dropped by a concert starring Thornetta Davis, a Detroit blues artist.

IMG_1538 2.jpg
Thornetta Davis rockin' the stage

We also stopped by and heard the end of a lecture by a DIA curator. Then, we went to Kresge Court (a cafe/bar in the DIA) and got a glass of wine. On Fridays, the DIA is open until 10pm, and there were a ton of people taking advantage of the extended hours!

IMG_1541 2.jpg
Having a glass of wine in the beautiful Kresge Court

If you're ever in Detroit, I highly recommend visiting the DIA. It's a world class museum with awesome programming. Now that I've learned about the many events that they host, I know I'll be there more often!

Sort:  

haha Nice, drawing, I know what you are talking about, just getting all obsessed with something and totally forgetting about everything else.
Correct me if I am wrong, but I think that's called OCD :)

Haha or some call it "flow state" ;)

Looks like fun... The DIA is awesome!!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by chernern from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Art is a beautiful fun... I think Greek and Romans were the unique in their time and they were on the peak of philosophy Science and Art... Art and Drawing is the mother of Engineering..... And a beauty of mind....By one drawing we can tell more than 1000 words...

()

I can't wait to get in on that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54034.48
ETH 2262.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31