Finished Delilah the Koi - Coloring Techniques Included

in #art6 years ago

20180521_034216.jpg
Meet Delilah, the koi fish. This beautiful drawing comes from the coloring book, "Coloring on the Go," artist unspecified. I named the fish "Delilah" for no particular reason. I used only six mediums on this - two staedtler triplus fineliners, two sargent brushtip markers, & for the background, a blend of baked eyeshadows (blue & green.)
20180521_033841.jpg
I've had several people comment positively in the past on my use of eyeshadows in my colorings & art. It is an easy to use medium as I only use my right index finger or pinky. I found this baked eye shadow some time ago at kmart for a good price. Compared to the other background choices like chalk, art stix, etc, etc, with eye shadow you have a more diverse range of colors to chose from. Not to mention it's a great way to use up eye shadow remnants or eye shadow you don't wear. Waste not, want not, right?

Here are a few work in progress pictures:
20180521_033457.jpg
^ Had just started in with the orange fineliner.
20180521_033535.jpg
^ More work complete with the orange fineliner.
20180521_033625.jpg
^ Began with the hot pink fineliner.
20180521_033707.jpg
^ Finished with the hot pink fineliner.

After the fineliner work orange marker work began. Then I added in the yellow marker where needed for bold effect and also used the yellow to blend the ink of the fineliners on the tail & other places.

The eyeshadow background was done last. This coloring took close to three hours & not completed in one sit down but over three days. The initial fineliner work was the most tedious tedious & my hand got crampy.

Thanks for visiting & I would love to hear from you in the comments section. I almost used an only blue background but appreciate the green tonality, suggested by my boyfriend, acheived by mixing the two colors.
FB_IMG_1526476961352.jpg

Sort:  

Cool, there's a koi pond in the backyard where I live! I sometimes wanted to buy nail polish because of the tons of unique and bright colors. Plus they come with a built in brush that's just about perfect for my line work lol Maybe I will some time, they're relatively cheap too.

I love Koi. I have used nail polish on my colorings before too. So i'm sure it'd work great for your purposes. =)

I'm just a little concerned about long term durability? Will is stay color fast, or fade over time? From what I know,nail polish isn't exactly designed to last 50-100 years like most paints I use are lol

That's true. I can't comment on the lightfastedness but i used it on this cat a couple years ago & its still okay. :)
20180521_145055.jpg

nice mandala colorings, i like the way you pick the colors for the koi, keep it up:)

Thank you very much & I will =)

Very beautiful work, it's lovely!

Thank you =)

The eye shadow does look great in it, lovely job!

Thank you :)

It looks amazing, nice work @chelsea88

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62