Post12 Day 21 - Felt textured poster I designed for Children's Film Festival Seattle + progress on film

in #art8 years ago

Hi Steemit!

Today we've been told we can share the artwork we created for the 2017 Children's Film Festival Seattle's event programme and poster to go along with the animated ident we are creating to start the festival. The characters are taken from my graduate film The Little Red Plane. Here is a link to the old piece (apologies if I've already bombarded you with it).

Inspiration for poster:

Originally we were going to take shots from the film's characters and sets to create a poster but that wouldn't have been possible as the poster would have to be released before many of these pieces were ready. I remembered an artist who's work I love, Eric Tan. Eric Tan created the artwork for Pixar's film UP. Tan created posters of the characters and scenes from the film and reimagined them in a muted Art Deco style reflective of the travel guides of the 1930's.

Process:

We still wanted the artwork to have a woollen element so we took high resolution photographs of various coloured felt sheets to use as our “palette”.

As I tend to work more in film than print design I am more comfortable working in Adobe Aftereffects. I imported the folder of felt images and used several masks to cut out the shape I wanted, revealing the felt texture behind it.

The below image shows me creating a mask (seen in pink) to trace around an image of the skyline of Seattle.

Once I'd created all of the separate elements I turned them into PNGs and placed them into photoshop.

*I know this will sound crazy to any graphic designers and digital artists out there. The reason I did it this way is that I know Aftereffects very well and use it a lot for work and have little need for photoshop but I am aiming to go through tutorials and get up to speed, it's just in this case time was of the essence.

It's now been approved and ready to add additional information I'm allowed to share it with you. I'm not a designer but I'm pretty pleased with this one.

I actually really enjoyed working on this, we made a little facebook banner too for their scial media:

I also apologise for going a little quiet and really appreciate the people following who would like to see more of what we're creating here. We have been super busy building and making sets but I like to wait until we've finished a set piece before posting the process up on Steemit. In the next few days we'll be showing our storyboard, new characters, and rebuild plane. We hope to start filming this weekend and posting animation texts and clips as we go. If you like the sound of that please follow us. We also have plenty of other past entries so you can be brought up to speed.

Any money made from this project goes straight back into materials for the film

Many thanks,

Charlotte :)

Sort:  

Excellent!! Love it. Reminds me of playing with 'fuzzy felts' when I was a kid :) x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41