Anato-Mondays Week #4 : Skull Sketching

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Let's get back into the groove of studying with arguably the most important and compelling structure in the figure... The Skull.


SkullThumb.jpg
So remember a while back, I posted about a cool reference software from Anatomy360. Well the free program you get for just sharing their site on social media is pretty much their fully integrated Unity interface and a tremendous resource all based around the skull. You get options for lighting, skull type, rendering, sketching aids, and a light texture filter all in a 360 degree 3D viewer. Essentially it beats getting a skull in real life in every way. Unless you need a super specific skull for study this is a great way to go to have endless studies of the skull. Combine this with reading Heads and Hands from Andrew Loomis and you will really start to connect the information for practical use. Here are my studies from this week with some little bits that I learned on the way.


IMG_0552.JPG
Front and Side view. I recommend you start here with your studies because the will offer you the most concrete absolutes when spotting landmarks to remember.


IMG_0553.JPG
The classic 3/4 view at eye level. This may be the most important angle since it is used most often.


IMG_0551.JPG
Looking slightly up at the skull is intimidating for me because the of the jaw line making a tangent with the chin. It really makes you get your positioning of the features right.


IMG_0550.JPG
Down shots are my favorite. Be careful to get the bridge of the nose at the right angle. It really sells the shot.


IMG_0549.JPG
View the skull from a back angle is definitely the hardest because their are limited landmarks to sell the volume to the viewer.

Studying the head and face is super important and if you want the most stable understanding of the volume, studying the skull is essential. Heres a little tidbit of a study that I am doing for a character you might be familiar with, Terry McGinnis from Batman Beyond. I am making new comic samples and this is one of the first studies I did to redefine the character in my eyes.

IMG_0458.JPG

Andrew Loomis always said that the positioning of the features of the head are more important than the features themselves. So study that skull!

Thank you Steemit Community for all the support and follow me if you like what I do.
Also, if you are an artist and want to jump in on the fun @kommienezuspadt is hosting weekly art challenges over on his page. Let's make steemit a great place for artists to gather and learn and practice.

Thanks for stopping by. If you like my work please check out my work all across the web.

Website
Instagram
Youtube Tutorials
Twitter

Sort:  

Great stuff.

Lovely art....Upvoted..... I am into photography and art.. I posted my art drawing and saw yours post as well. plz check on my post to support my art drawing work.. thx ... I followed U now.

Sure thing. Thanks for checking it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60