You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: REVIEW : "The Cabinet Of Dr. Caligari" (1920) - Movie by Robert Wiene

in #art4 years ago

I watched this some time ago on a really terrible copy and still quite enjoyed it. I didn't realize they had done a re-mastering, I am going to have to look that up. I hadn't really pieced it together but as soon as you mentioned that this film was an inspiration to Tim Burton I could instantly see it, the scenery in some scenes could almost be transported whole cloth into one of his claymations.

@tipu curate

Sort:  

Check out DeVito’s penguin man in Batman... Spitting image of Caligari :-)

Ha! You are right! LOL

Someone also compared Caligari to the philosopher Arthur Schopenhauer. I can see the similarities :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71082.84
ETH 3864.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52