Family Photo Album - Uncle Albert

in #art6 years ago

Say hello to my Uncle Albert - every family has a guy like this, am I right?
alien insect 2 crop dream2.jpg

He is such a ham, always making these funny faces when the holo-recorder is pointed at him!

Of course, the use of the masculine pronoun here is a bit of a stretch as my species reproduces asexually, but come on, look at "him"! Doesn't he have "Albert" just written all over?

Albert started out life as a photo-collage I made from my original macro photography of a katydid and the discarded exoskeleton of a wasp larva.

Original photo collage for reference:
alien insect 2.jpg

Final product is the result of digital manipulation in PhotoShop and layering multiple passes through the Deep Dream Generator.

EDIT: I wanted to post this on my @alieneyeball account but apparently that account doesn't have enough resource credits to interact with the blockchain yet :(

Sort:  

Scrolling on my timeline and I thought I saw a mask of Predator. Cool picture.

this is absolute "wow" - love it! Very creative (I love working with deep dream myself). Finally unclogging RC for me, at least I can resteem and upvote now - but my voting power is rather poor!

Thanks! Your "wow" actually means a lot more to me, coming from you, than a big $ upvote :) I have been doing some very interesting things with Deep Dream, in my own humble opinion LOL Check out this older post to see some alien landscapes https://steemit.com/art/@carlgnash/grandma-spiderwebs-and-the-darkness-invisible-an-illustrated-fairytale

I left this comment on your post:
a fantastic story - glad you pointed it out to me! The variations of the illustrations are quite intriguing!
Great process to preserve the spiderwebs!
I added it to my Visionary collection:
https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/1045818003475124225

Oh uncle Albert you so deserve some steem but alas I have none to give. You can have my smiley face for free though :) and maybe one wink! ;)

Oh sweet! I will take your wink and run to the bank! <3 I appreciate you spending some of your precious resource credits my direction LOL Much love - Carl

This is great art, an awesome dream! Albert is such a cool guy, I am sure his last name is Fhtaghn, right? Iä! Iä! Albert Fhtaghn! Alas, I cannot vote for you currently, but I start following you and I will try to vote later, when my Voting Power is high again.

I have some done some dream experiments myself in the past, you are welcome to check them out: Abstract Dreams part 1 part 2 part 3

Uncle Albert is kinda adorable :D I love how he waddle when he moves !!! :D

Love your weird and psychedelic arts, Carl !!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hi @carlgnash!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.213 which ranks you at #780 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 726 contributions, your post is ranked at #189.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Intriguing result. I wish I still had Photoshop. When I worked as a graphic designer (in print media), I was an expert with both Photoshop and Illustrator. Do you have access to Illustrator? See, I’d have taking the initial pieces of that collage, traced the images in Illustrator to create a vector file, then manipulate it in myriad ways to achieve the desired effect. Of course, vector files were easier on the computer and storage memory and the operating space during print runs back then – printers LOVE vector files. And, vector files are near infinitely scalable up or down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67336.19
ETH 3695.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71