The Creation of Mechateuthis' Arms Pt. 1

in #art7 years ago

Two of the most common questions I get about my most popular creation, Mechateuthis, are how the arms work and how I made them. This post series should provide a good understanding of both. To make the arms, I started out by making cardboard templates of one half of each size of segment. I made 3 chalk lines on the cardboard corresponding to the top center seam, bottom center seam, and side bearing hole. By making all lines converge to a single point, the correct geometry for a uniform taper is achieved.

IMG_0873.JPG

The bearing mount points (the circled points where the chalk lines and pen arcs meet) must be arranged to be at the same distance from the chalk line convergence point on each joint, even though the edge points are part of a different segment than the central point. This is so that the segments will have an even transition rather than a weird step down.

IMG_0874.JPG

After using a compass and ruler to draw in the rest of the segments' outlines, I cut out each one, and used it to make the metal templates which I eventually used to cut out the segments.

IMG_0875.JPG

Once I had all the templates built, I installed them one at a time in my self-built pantograph plasma cutter and cut 16 copies of each. Once the segments were cut, I had to remove the slag (something like 16 hours with a pair of wire cutters breaking it off)drill the bearing pilot holes, and bend the cutouts into the proper shape.

IMG_0883.JPG

After that, I clamped them to the table, and welded the bottom seam using my TIG welder.

IMG_0886.JPG

While leaving the bottom clamps in place I clamped the top seam in place and welded it.

IMG_0884.JPG

After the welding, the segments usually needed a bit of adjustment.

IMG_0885.JPG

After the welding was complete, I stacked the segments together and pounded on them to force them into a uniform
cross-section shape.

IMG_0891.JPG

That's it for part one. If there is sufficient interest, I will make a post on the next part of the process.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Interesting to see how you've done, thanks captain waiting for the following ;-)

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem, it doesn´t have to be the first one. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be RS. Good Luck

Great! By all means please share my post! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.17
ETH 2341.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33