Stalking Panther Sculpture in Progress

in #art6 years ago

IMG_1971.JPG

Greetings Fellow Humans,

I have started building a mechanical panther, and will be posting select photos of the build process as I charge toward completion. The finished piece should be about 30 inches long. I started out with the head, as that is the part that is most difficult to build and has the fewest options for scaling. I used a piece of a connecting rod for the nose and brow, and built from there. The eyes are a sort of bearing type part of the rocker arm system on an engine, and as such they need to be blasted with fire for quite a while to get the oil out of them so they can be welded, otherwise they tend to explode.

IMG_1964.JPG

Once the eyes, nose and mouth are in place, I can build around them to fill out the rest of the head.

IMG_1965.JPG

IMG_1966.JPG

IMG_1967.JPG

IMG_1969.JPG

The next thing I need is a spine, as it is very helpful in visualizing the shape of the panther's body. Since the piece will be too long to fit into my sandblasting cabinet, I had to make two joints in the spine so that it can be taken apart.

IMG_1973.JPG

IMG_1974.JPG

Stay tuned for more progress posts as I make more... well, progress.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

This is so neat! I love it!! I can almost see tge completed piece. The head resembles the majestic animal fabulously. Looking forward to the progression posts:)

I like how you always seem so sure we're just fellow humans, here in the audience.

It is important to keep up appearances. Meaning that we are all humans here. All of us are definitely humans. There are no robots. Only humans.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Ancient Egyptian family members shaved their eyebrows in mourning when the family cat died.

That is very strange. Thanks for sharing.

Cat families usually play best in even numbers. Cats and kittens should be acquired in pairs whenever possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49