Mechanical Fish Build Progress and Test Video

in #art6 years ago

IMG_1953.JPG

Greetings Fellow Humans,

Today I am pleased to share with you the progress I have made on my Fishbowl project, a mechanical fish that will swim around it's bowl biting things. I have been working on this project off and on for a long time, and I am glad I am getting towards the end of it. It has virtually all of it's mechanical effects built, though a lot more programming is required to use one of them at all. All it really is missing aside from that is the enclosure. The fish is about 13 inches long, and is loosely based on various deep sea fish pictures I found online. It has 4 motors that power it's movements, controlled by an Arduino Mega 2560 board.

The body flexes with a series of jointed segments which oscillate along with a curved rod which keeps the fish positioned correctly. The curved rod is driven through a series of levers, rods, and cranks by a motor mounted below the fish on the support post. Pictured below is the fish dissassembled for finish work, wiring, and lubrication.

Fishparts3.jpg

Here is the segments and curved rod that make the fish swim.

Fishparts4.JPG

Here is the support post along with the two control rods that go through it, the swim motor, and various parts and linkages that are part of that assembly.

Fishparts5.jpg

These are the outer body parts waiting to be ground, sanded, and colored.

Fishparts6.jpg

Fishparts7.jpg

After the finish work I began reassembling the fish.

IMG_1907.JPG

Here it is all set up for testing. The breadboards clamped to the stand are for controlling the motor speed manually, since I do not have movements programmed in yet.

IMG_1956.JPG

Here is a closer look at the lower parts. The large wiper motor at the bottom is what makes the fish circle. The 8 wire commutator in the center of the picture was an interesting challenge. I used copper pipe to make the rings, and ordered vacuum cleaner motor brushes to make contact with the rings.

IMG_1951.JPG

And now some less technical pictures:

IMG_1952.JPG

IMG_1955.JPG

The mouth, circle, and swim motors are tested in the video. The fish also has an up and down motion it can do, but it is activated by a stepper motor, which requires more programming than I have done so far, so for now we will have to settle for three movements. And now, without further ado, the test video:

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

That is so cool. I will have to take a real close look at the mechanical gubbins. I really need to start making kinetic sculptures too.

Thank you! I look forward to seeing what you come up with. Kinetic sculptures are a lot of work, but I find them to be the most satisfying.

Freaky beautiful, would love to see this in person

Thanks! I am glad you like it so far. It will be even better with proper programming!

nice fish I like it.
I made a mechanical anglerfish last year. Can i link it to you?
Your mechanical solution is much more elegant i have to say.

Thanks! Please do show me your fish, I would like to see it.

Very nice. Besides swimming around, is there any particular thing you are using this project for? So many possibilities. Especially with the green screen in the video. Let me know if you need help adding a background. Will be checking out more of your work

Thanks. The idea is to build an enclosure around it with a coin acceptor and people would put in a quarter, dime or nickel, and it will put on a different show for each one. I am not sure if it will be a good business model, but if not I can always remove the coin acceptor and sell it.

I think its a great idea. You get what you pay for. This sculpture reminds me of a stop motion shortfilm on YouTube named fish friend. Maybe it can inspire new ideas. I'm a really big fan of the creepy look the fish has to it lol

I guess I will find out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98