A Skeleton Taking a Stroll

in #art6 years ago

Greetings Fellow Humans,

Today I built a skeleton. Or Skelerton as I sometimes call them. But that isn't what matters right now. This skeleton is taking a stroll down to wherever it is that skeletons go when they are off duty. Probably not the bar or he would need to bring a mop with him. Maybe he just isn't forward thinking. A bonehead, if you will. Stupid skeletons anyway, making messes and clattering around everywhere. But I digress. This piece is made of automotive and industrial parts, and stands about 11 inches high. I left it shiny from sandblasting for now, but I am thinking I may go ahead and turn it black, since I am liking the look in some of the build photos quite a bit. I went for kind of a cartoonish look with this guy, which was fun.

IMG_1936.JPG

I feel safer around skeletons when they are un-armed.

IMG_1937.JPG

I kind of liked this photo. It has a bit of a Dr. Frankenstein's lab feel.

IMG_1938.JPG

I did not want to mess up the toes when I welded him to the base, so I drilled holes in the plate and welded the feet down through the bottom, which worked well.

IMG_1941.JPG

This was right before I sandblasted him.

IMG_1942.JPG

IMG_1946.JPG

IMG_1948.JPG

IMG_1950.JPG

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Like how you captured the casual feel of a walk - grat job!

Thank you, I was fairly happy with how the walk came out, though I originally wanted it to be more exaggerated and cartoon-y.

This is just perfect ;)

man that is some nice work.

Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed it!

stupid question: are you using a TIG welder?

Yes. I am doubtful that this could be made by any other means considering how small the metal for the ribs is. Maybe solder would work, but I am not sure if you can solder steel that hasn't been copper coated though, I haven't ever tried it. In order to do it even with my TIG I had to use wire out of a MIG as filler rod since the smallest TIG rod I can find is 1/16 inch, which means it starts to melt after the ribs have already burned through.

you can solder steel with silver and brass solder. The other possibility would have been oxy/acetylene but that is quite slow. But it is by far the cleanest way. Just also the slowest.

Interesting. I have not experimented much with oxy/acetylene welding, since it is so bad about speed and warpage. I never use solder for anything but electronics and copper pipe.

Since i also work with silver i had to learn how to solder. And brass solder is quite strong. I used it on mechanic parts were i could not weld. (because i only use a rod welder for budged reasons) And on tungsten carbide tools to connect the crabite with steel.

Right on. I did solder a silver ring I made once, but that is all.

master :)

Great! nice idea to use screws for the hands and the feets. I've done skeleton too , i will show it

Thanks! It is surprising how well the screws convey the idea of jointed fingers and toes when they in actuality don't look like joints at all. I look forward to seeing your skeleton.

The Homer Simpson teeth really sell it, here. Now we need a hunchback version

The teeth are BBs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49