River of Sorrow

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever cried for no reason at all? Have you felt the river of sorrow that runs through the depths of humanity? I think Verlaine captures this feeling beautifully in his simple poem.

-

Tears Fall in My Heart

Tears fall in my heart
As rain falls on the city;
What is this languor
That pierces my heart?

Oh soft sound of the rain
On the ground, on the roofs!
For a tired heart
Oh the song of the rain!

Tears fall without reason
In this disheartened heart.
What! No betrayal?…
This mourning is without reason.

It is by far more painful
Not to know why
Without love, without hate
My heart is so full of pain.
-Paul Verlaine-

The drawing is made with Prismacolor pencils and markers

Sort:  

I love this poem by Verlaine, it's so touched!
Beautiful artwork, @camilla !

I love it to :) we discussed this poem today in my literature class.

I love the poem, it's so deep and emotional. Did you do the drawing? In that case you are extremely talented!

Yes I did the drawing :) thank you for the compliment

I just followed you so I can see more of your incredible artwork. Have a lovely day! :)

Thank you so much! I look forward to share my art with you . I follow you to now :) It is so cool that you are from Sweden! Im from Norway :D

Oh I didn't even notice that, cool! :)

I love the drawing and the feeling behind the poem .

Lovely, heartbreaking poem and great drawing :)

Beautiful! Really beautiful!

Nice emotional piece @camilla!

thank you :)

Nice eye drawings

Well done! @camilla
Very nice !

amazing..
Resteem @camilla

Great eyes, great poem small 100% Upvote but a very worthful resteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49