Tales From Outer Suburbia Review

in #art6 years ago

When I picked out the Tales From Outer Suburbia on Amazon, I figured it would be more like a graphic novel since that was the section it was in. However, when I received it I realized it was more akin to a children's book filled with written stories with pictures to accompany them. While at first I was a bit disappointed, I must admit ultimately I ended up delightfully surprised with the book in the end.

IMG_0985.JPG

Like I said the book is made of up various stories, all told very well and they all fit into something that could happen in a suburb but have strange twists to them. For example in one a marine creature lands on someones lawn in a suburban neighborhood, which isnt practical, but for the sake of the story is an interesting development.

IMG_0986.JPG

IMG_0987.JPG

There are a handful of stories in total from Shaun Tan a very talented writer and to my knowledge artist. Each story is the perfect length for a dose of wonder and mystery that you might choose to read to your children before bed. If you have a child and read them bed time stories, I would highly recommend checking this one out.

IMG_0988.JPG

The art is the most beautiful part of this book in my opinion, not only because it is very well done but it adds to the imagination when you are reading each story. The drawings help familiarize what might be a hard concept to grasp especially with some of the more eccentric stories in the book. Not to mention they are just pretty to look at.

IMG_0989.JPG

The book has this strange feel to it that I cant explain well, maybe its partly nostalgic but something is definitely familiar about it. Many of the drawings are in black and white or shaded to make you feel like you are in part of an episode of the Twilight Zone. Many of the stories might not be completely explained and yet you feel a sense of fulfillment after reading them. I would highly recommend taking a look at this book or adding it to your collection.

-Calaber24p

Sort:  

This book is well designed and has its own, how do I say that, its stamp or something :D
But the front page is so damn cool and I'm glad you found it well and that you haven't stayed disappointed haha :D

I must admit ultimately I ended up delightfully surprised with the book in the end.

Same with me. Tales from Outer Suburbia is a really intresting book. Shaun Tan has obviously put a lot of thought and effort. It may looksimple at first but if you take a closer look there's a lot of detail and hidden pictures.

Thanks for the review, I stumble upon the book not long ago but didn't looked in.

working on my own graphic novel.

achterkant b(2).jpg
maybe, if you like you can come to my blog to find out more.
would love to hear your oppinion about the graphics... https://steemit.com/adventure/@elohibaluk/the-beginning-of-elohibaluk

That looks like a really cool book. Thanks for sharing the pictures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33