Metalsmithing Class No.4

in #art6 years ago

The final class!

image.png
A view of the benches, everyone working diligently while listening to the school's owner giving a wee speech.

For the final class, we were told to design our own little piece, using the techniques that we had learned over the previous 3 classes. I was tempted to create another ring- because I love rings! But I decided to try making a pair of earrings instead.

image.png
Here you can see the base pieces, bezels and stones. I'm working on texturing and forming before soldering everything together.

The plan was to make some cool, contrasty oversized studs with mixed metals. I used some bronze bezel wire, black onyx cabochons, and sterling silver.

image.png
Here I am using a hammer to put the texture on the sterling silver. After this, I put it in the circle cutter you can see in the foreground to cut perfect discs to use as the base of the design.

Again, time didn't allow for me to finish this design. Most of the students didn't quite finish. The school was kind enough to offer us half-price studio time and gift certificates so we can come back to finish our pieces.

image.png
My unfinished piece...

I still have to solder earring posts onto the backs, oxidize, sand, polish, set the stones, and give them a final polish. The oxidization will leave black in the recesses of the texture, making it pop more, which I am super excited about. I think these will be a super cool set of earrings once they're done!

image.png
The little box of bits I've ended up with at the end of this course.

Now that I've completed this course, I feel I have a good foundation on which to build my smithing knowledge. I still have a lot to learn, but much of that will come with practice and just spending time getting my hands dirty. Very, very dirty.

I'm really excited about being able to rent bench time at the school. I'm a bit afraid, though, that the cost of rental will add up a bit too quickly. So, I am still investigating the possibility of getting my hands on some basic tools so I can do some of my work at home, and just use the school for the work that requires the bigger/more expensive tools that I don't have yet... it's one of those art forms that requires a lot of equipment, which is frustrating.

Stay tuned! Completed earrings and more coming soon!!

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

Thanks for stopping by!

What an exciting adventure. I can't wait to see the things you'll make!

Thanks, Donna! I'm super excited to get going!

What an exciting
Adventure. I can't wait to
See the things you'll make!

                 - donnadavisart


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I think I mentioned I played a bit in metal jewelry but it was with PMC as I was able to sculpt a bit more and then fire it hard, it was cool. Good luck I've always loved jewelry, it's an amazing trade and craft and art.

I once got to go on a private tour in the city of London of the Goldsmiths halls (they have all the halls of all the crafts guild in the City since forever) and I saw some amazing silver and gold things, jewelry, cups , plate you name it. We weren't allowed to photograph inside but it was like a palace all marble and gilt. There was even a board room with all these ancient paintings on the walls, it was like some secret place, really wonderful day out.

Good luck.

Oh that sounds so inspiring! Metal art is such an ancient art form... I can't imagine how much more difficult it must've been way back before all the nifty tools we have now! Mad respect for the pioneers!!

Oh haikubot you always get me. I once did a painting based on a haiku he/she made of my comments

Hello @caitycat, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you for your support! Very much appreciated!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74