Getting Back into Painting- Time to Share!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I took watercolour lessons when I was in high school. It was more of a social thing as a couple of my friends went too. We would get out of class and one of our moms would drive
us out for our watercolour lessons with this lovely artist who made a living painting portrait commissions and Rockwell-in-Canada-esque hockey scenes, and teaching painting skills to kids.

I struggled with realism but really loved the properties of watercolour paint... the way you can layer translucent colours over each other, the texture it volunteers as it dries, and the way that it FLOWED.

Fast forward to a failed attempt at Art School, where watercolour was snobbily dismissed as more of a 'craft.' So I attempted acrylics without much luck, and latched pretty hard onto photography- eventually dropping out of Art School to attend a more intensive, technical photography-focused program.

Now, here I am, dabbling in watercolours again. Now I no longer have snobby people telling me how to paint. Now I'm just painting. And it feels great!

I have lots of paintings and thoughts to share with you here, and I hope you like them! This one is one of the first ones that flowed out when I started painting again last summer.

Octopus I.jpg

I certainly wouldn't call it "Fine Art" but it's fun and playful and people seem to like this style lately. What do you think? Do you like to paint? What is your favourite type of paint? Let me know in the comments! I always love meeting other artists!

Sort:  

Oh man this is really really cool! I love the way that the colors seem to bounce around the linework. And the detail in the blank ink is really really well done. Great selection of colors too -- I like how little of the blue is in there. It really pops out nicely, and kind of gives it an appearance of bubbles under water!

Thank you Mr. Stafford. I so appreciate all your support!

Very nice painting !

Thank you very much!!

Love it! ❤️

Thank you, Zippy!! <3

What do snobby people know about art? I mean, heaps probably, but surely it's all about expression and this is a super fun piece! I'm not sure how much fine art is going to be appreciated on this platform, but your style is so vibrant that I think you'll do very well here.

Lots of artistic steemians do step-by-step type posts and they seem to be very popular... so once your account has a bit of a following I'd definitely suggest giving that a bit of a trial.

I love this style... it's so good and fun and rad.

RIght?! It's all very subjective. People want what they want.
Thank you for the kind words! I hope people enjoy my work- that's all I really want I guess is for it to make people say "hey that's cool!"
I have done tons of teaching photography but I had never thought of doing anything for my painting! Step-by-step posts sounds super cool! I'll put it on the list!
Thanks again for your support! Much appreciated! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64