Workaround: No artist glove? No problem.

in #art4 years ago

I see that cool Instagram artists have a nice two or one finger glove that protects them from accidentally touching or triggering the touch screen display while drawing with their pressure-sensitive pen.

And, of course, I'm envious.

However, I have a simple solution. Yep, I have a plain linen (or burlap?) cloth placed on the screen as I draw. Seems to work nicely for me while I dream of spendier days.

image.png

Sort:  

I do have a “special” glove like that, but you don’t have to get too spendy! Years ago I bought a cheap pack of disposable white cotton gloves, even before I was drawing digitally. I read it was an old animators trick to cut all the fingers off but the pinky, and it would greatly minimize pencil smearing as you draw. It definitely works and is more convenient than using an extra sheet of paper sliding around under your hand. Anyway, I still have some of these lying around, and if I’ve misplaced my “legit” glove they still work well for the digital use! Honestly, palm rejection works pretty well on my screen anyway, so the main benefits are keeping the screen cleaner and less oily, and it really helps the hand slide over the display smoothly which helps me with line quality.

That’s awesome. Haha, I’m this close to cutting up the cloth and tying it to my hand. It’s true it’s not that expensive come to thing about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80