Large Wall Piece - Driftwood

in #art7 years ago

This is my final driftwood piece, definitely my favorite. It's taken me a little over 2 years to finish it. Things just take long being in school and work and constantly moving around and switching apartments. This piece was burned, idk where, but I picked it up in the Niagara River. I used 4 different stains, attempting to match the natural burn colors with the stains and then polyurethaning it. Let me know what you think!
IMG_6739.jpg

IMG_6740.jpg

-Steve

Sort:  

That's very cool friend.

Thank you, I really appreciate you taking the time to look at it.

Have you considered doing a matte finish on the poly coat?
The shininess of the wood seems a bit odd to me.

The picture does it no justice, it is less in person but it came out a little more shiny than I had hoped. You think adding a matte finish on would dull the shininess?

Congratulations @buffalooriginal! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Beautiful work of art! Thank you for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34