The Beautiful and Destructive Art of James Jean

in #art7 years ago

adrift-final-webres.jpg
(Adrift)

I follow the Juxtapoz art magazine Instagram account. Not because I know much about art, but simply because I like art. I know what I like, but I can't always tell you my reasons why.

One day in 2015, the Juxtapoz account announced that an artist by the name of James Jean would be selling a limited number of prints of his latest work called "Adrift" for 24 hours. After that, it would no longer be available. I got curious.

The original, to put it in perspective, is fucking huge. I've included a picture of it in-studio below. The print is about 3ft by 4ft and hangs at the foot of my bed. I could not have been happier about my purchase. I became a fan of his almost instantly. I love his style, the colors, the shapes...everything. There's something both dangerous and welcoming about his work that I find totally inviting.

adrift-studio-insta.jpg

This last year, he offered up another couple of prints, but the only one that I was interested in buying (as it would fit the running them in my bedroom currently) is the one below called "Lapins d'amour." Weird? Totally. But weird is absolutely in my wheelhouse. And while sexual in nature, I like the wordplay on the old phrase "fucking like rabbits" when put into visual perspective here.

Anyway, he's become my favorite pretty quickly. He posts up a TON of great stuff on his Instagram feed that's worth checking out in case anyone's interested. He often sells prints of different works, but only for 24 hours. Each print is signed, numbered, and has its own special embossed image on the outside of the piece as well.

AIDES-BEAUTY.jpg
(Lapins d'amour)

adriftII-painting48x36-webres.jpg
(Adrift II)

JJ-UDON2_PR_BEAUTY.jpg
(Udon 2)

Sort:  

Nice! I went to follow on instagram and saw I'm already following him. I've followed so many artists by now, I can't keep track.

hahahahaha...i know how that goes. i follow a dude named Doze Green as well. former b-boy from way back in the day with a famous crew, apparently. really dig a lot of stuff too, though it can feel pretty one-note sometimes.

I'm not on Instagram, but it's rare that I pick up a copy of Juxtapoz without finding something that I like.

These are great. That second painting is intense. I'm not sure how my wife would feel if I grabbed a print of that for the bedroom, though.

luckily, i'm a bachelor and there's already some questionable stuff hanging in my bedroom already, so it would fit nicely :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50