"Creative Weapon" A Vacuform/wood sculpture by Becky Steele (Process pics/vid included!)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-12-31 at 12.55.24 AM.png

My first time vacuum forming was one of the funnest art projects I have ever done!

If you don't know, Vacuum forming is where a sheet of plastic is heated to a forming temperature, stretched onto a single-surface mold, and forced against the mold by a vacuum in a Vacuform machine. If you don't have access to a vacuum form machine you can make a DIY one on videos on youtube.

To get a visual of the process check out the Vacuforming of my 'Creative Weapon' sculpture:

Whaaaalaaaa!! my shark hat was born!
01.jpg

After cutting it out there was little slit holes on the mouth so I filled those in with a two-part product called "Bondo" which is normally used as an automotive body filler. It creates a strong bond that can be sanded till smooth and perfect.

02.PNG

After that I used spackling paste and Epoxy to attach my shark friend to a wood circle I cut out with a jig-saw. I applied a very thin layer of spackle and then very thin layers of epoxy so that I could get the smoothest transition possible.

03.PNG

Then I painted it all white with gesso as a primer :)

04.PNG

Next was time to figure out the piano teeth. I carved them all individually with a band saw and disc sander and numbered them so It would be easier to put them all in the right place.

05.PNG

Then I used Epoxy to glue them all in place

06.PNG

07.PNG

Once they were all there I finished up by painting the shark and the platform.

Here is another photo of it completed from when I brought it with me to live paint at Bside! (Drum n bass event in Los Angeles)
17855498_1343561712401547_4385605693856601903_o.jpg

I'm pretty happy with how it came out and would definitely do another vacuform project! So many possibilities!

@BSteeleMyArt-1.jpg

Sort:  

that DnB event in LA got me curious! Was it a proper candy-kids kinda rave or why the trippy sculpturing?!

Vacuum forming opens a whole new universe in creating shapes and templates, I've never tried it but I was just discussing it with my gf the other day, when we thought about if its possible to diy a fancy new lamp for her living room...

Heyy!! Nooo no kandy kids xD There was just a few other artists besides me.. and I like to bring it cause its eye-catching :D

You probably could! Lmk if u try <3

aww... yeah... i guess the candy-days have passed :P

I'll have to bodge up a vacuum forming machine first, but one fine day I'll try that, and if it's not in the too distant future, I WILL let you know :D

steem-on and Happy New Year!

Yeah mostly at Happy hardcore parties if you want to find those guys :p

Sweet! Happy New Year to you too!

yeah, no... happy hardcore gets on my nerves after 10 minutes... i kinda miss those days, though.

its not for everybody :) i love it tho!
i do too!

Love the Art!!! Keep posting such great informational posts, you should add steemiteducation tag i think it is as this was very informational!!!!!!

This is the best thing since boxing shorts!!

imageedit_60_4696598753.gif

That's really cool!
Big love from me,
JGV

thanks!! sending some big love back <3<3

cuddle attack 2 gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62170.06
ETH 2415.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65