❤ Curiosities about "Melanie Martinez"+ illustration + process (Original Design) ❤

in #art6 years ago

Good morning dear friends of Steemit. ❤ ️ 😊

Today I want to share with you an illustration I made of #MelanieMartinez.

P1060447wddw.jpg

who is Melanie Martinez?

martinez3 (1).jpg

She is a very talented American singer, songwriter, and photographer, I consider it to be one of my favorites because of her creativity and style. Her music is really good! And if anyone has not had the opportunity to listen to it I recommend them.

I will show you in a very brief way the process of creating the illustration. (Note that it is an original work).

Let's get started!

Separador promedio.png

  • first start by making the sketch of the body of the character.

I always make my sketches with some graphite pencil or sometimes colored pencils (preferably red). Many people tell me to try to make them with pens as they prevent our surface from getting dirty, and when coloring the illustration does not get dirty.

Little by little I draw the traits that characterize my character (bangs, big eyes, nose piercing, etc) Melanie is characterized by dressing and look like a baby, for that reason I draw a pretty childish dress.


  • Then it's the turn of the delineated.

To most of my illustrations I make a black outline with irregular lines.

Normally for the delineated is used the rapidograph (which is a drawing instrument, which works using Chinese ink or oil, similar to a pen pen, whose design is special for use in architecture and drawing precision.)

But in my case I prefer to use a black pen, is much more affordable and accessible, plus I like the shiny finish that leaves, it makes me much easier to handle and I just have to wait to dry and then erase the pencil marks.


  • The next step is to start filling in the areas of the drawing with the colors you want.

I normally use only colored pencils to fill in my illustrations, but when the area I want to color is very large use markers.

In Melanie's illustration I only wore black marker to color the black side of her hair.

I always start coloring the skin of the character, I do it gently because as it is a delicate and clear area can not be stains or blemishes.


  • Then I continue coloring the rest of the illustration; clothes, accessories, add shines, Reflections, shadows, among other details.

Melanie tends to use pretty light colors or cakes, so to speak. That's why I decided to color your dress from a pretty cute rose.


Untitled-1.jpg
Separador promedio.png
Untitled-2.jpg

And finally I add some hearts around it. ❤ ❤ ❤

This would be the result:

P1060433o.jpg


Now, you know Melanie a little better.

  • Aesthetically, Melanie is recognized for her two-tone hair similar to the character of Disney Cruella de Vil.

  • The singer only dyes the right side of her hair and would not want to have it all in the same color.

  • as his music has a very close relationship with his visual style, Martinez dresses up with doll heads, hairy things, lace socks, Peter bread dresses with neck, bottles and others.

  • She describes herself as a child Lolita of 1950.

  • In March 2017, Martinez expressed his desire to produce a film telling the story of each song of his second album, explaining "I'm currently writing a movie... I'm going to spend the whole year working on it, directing, filming, makeup And everything, so it's a lot of work. "

How did you like it?


I really hope you liked it, you can take the liberty of asking me questions if you have any doubt or interested in knowing something about my way of working.

Remember that you can support me following my account @bryomm, also voting my post, sharing, and commenting.

Without further saying I say goodbye, have a nice day, and we read later. ❤

Separador.png

#curie #art #illustration #melaniemartinez #blog #drawing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67863.38
ETH 3708.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65