New Graphite drawing!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I'm back and it feels good to be back, especially since the steemit currency value has shot up quite significantly! With work and other life issues, I've been away for a while for my focus was on other aspects of  my life. I did, however want to share with you a drawing that I've recently come back to after a few months of mainly focusing on my digital media on my ipad pro, which I love very much! I will also be sharing with you some of those pieces in the near future as well but for now I will draw your attention to my latest graphite drawing which is currently untitled but in concept represents a character that possesses the ability to see beyond physiological means. 

The inspiration for this particular drawing kind of came by accident on a day I wasn't really feeling too inspired but when I started drawing and sketching, different ideas came into my mind. The helmet the character has was originally wasn't going to be a helmet at all but more or less a vestigial growth on a mans head, which I may still do, but ended up becoming a helmet because of the general shape became very bulbous in shape. Once I had committed to the idea of it being a helmet, a flood of other design ideas became apparent to me. This helmet is not one of war but one of amplification of the mind and even possibly an external audible and visual sensory blocker so that the power of the character's mind can be more focused on seeing "the beyond". 


I also wanted the character to have his own history and culture so I put faux symbolism which represents that with the alien writings you see on the archway framing the character as if he is greeting us like an oracle or guide to another dimension or reality. It's all very fantastical and cosmic which was also why I incorporated the sun and moon on the helmet. I still need to add another cosmic element on the larger spherical section. Overall, I am very happy the way this is slowly been evolving. I won't ever stray away from traditional media because I believe each form of media, whether it be traditional or digital, gives you something different due to it's limitations as well as advantages. For me, having limitations in media strengthens the creative process because it forces you to overcome those disadvantages and your skill set improves as a result. I can't wait to share with you the final piece as well as some of my digital pieces I've been also working on and finished! 

Sort:  

Thank you! Lighting is always important to me when trying to convey mood or depth. It is also useful in distinguishing types of surfaces. It definitely takes a lot of practice!

thats some good stuff

Me gusta tu trabajo y como cuidas los detalles. Gran dibujo amigo.

Mucho gracias!

Awesome drawing. Following you!

Thank you so much!

Hello Bryan. I just stumbled across your post. Following now. I was wondering is this what you do for a living? Your work is very good. Just curiosity on my part. Thank you.

This makes a nice desktop background!

Amazing!

I love the fantastical characteristics and the focus beyond what we can obviously see and hear... How you've connected the idea of sensory deprivation as a means of focusing on a higher goal gives this piece a lot of depth in my eyes. Even putting aside that humans are naturally hedonistic, which leads to distraction from 'the beyond' or 'being woke,' so much sensory processing can be devastatingly exhaustive on the brain... It was lovely to meet you today. :)

That is really beautiful. You are incredibly talented. It looks like it would be a person from a wiser, more powerful alien race. Like the individual is a member of the elites of their world and have some importance like being priests or royalty.

Thank you so much! That's definitely the idea! It's always fun to create those types of characters because they can be very regal and have symbolism to emphasize their importance and it also makes them seem more grandiose in stature.

Yay! I'm always happy when I guess an artists idea right. I'm always afraid I'll interpret wrong. It is a really great drawing. You do beautiful work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66