Disrespect for ActingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

pippin.jpg
performing Pippin

Wait What?!?

Yes, I have in fact decided to name my eventual memoir "Disrespect for Acting." It is a play on Uta Hagen's book "Respect for Acting."

The trouble with the mainstreaming of liberal arts education is that every college has a performing arts program. This has created a vacuum which requires educators. Unfortunately, supply and demand are well out of wack. There are not enough qualified acting teachers to educate the masses of students who have decided to pursue a performing arts life.

Why not a "Performing Arts Career?" Because being an actor in the 21st century cannot become a career. It is a lifestyle. As the money has gotten sucked up to the top it has disappeared from the masses.

Most performers now spend their entire lives taking jobs for no pay, little pay, credit, copy, and deferred pay. These things do not put bread on the table or provide a roof over one's head.

hair_digital_34.jpg
HAIR at East Carolina University

College Training

(an excerpt from my manuscript)

I was a young undergrad acting student in my first year of what we called “Baby Meisner.” I had been admitted into the Musical Theater program but did not get accepted into the two year intensive Meisner training. It was fine because I was still able to study under a professor who I greatly admired. That was the thing about being an acting student. Our professors were our gods, the acting studio was our temple, and our scene practice was the worship and the sacrifice we made to them.

It was our first day working on a new tool. Prepping was seen as the holy grail and we dutifully listened to our professor explain the process by which we would start to practice it.

“When it is your turn to go, partner A will do an activity in the room while partner B will leave and go to my office. While you are there you will look for a strong memory, not the ‘my mother is dying of cancer kind,’ but something strong that you can relate to. Once you have that memory, focus on it and then walk back to the door. Once you have reached the door you will knock, your partner will react, you will enter, and the scene will begin. Remember, once you have this emotion DO NOT hold onto it. Just know that it is there... that it is with you.”

He looked around the room and our eyes met.

Yup, here we go again.

“Brandon, you’re up.”

I was B that day. I dutifully walked to his office. Looked for my memory, my emotion. I found it and concentrated on it. I gazed into his empty fish tank and really focused on it. Once I was secure in knowing that I had it and was ready I did the short walk down the hallway and knocked.

Silence.

_MG_7267.jpg
Pushkin's The Feast in the Time of Plague

“I can’t feel your emotion!”

I was confused. I was angry. Most of all I was disillusioned with the whole system.

“You can come in. The exercise is over.”

I’m sure he spent the next five or ten minutes illustrating to the class what I had done wrong. I’m sure the heads bobbed in rhythm and there were copious notes taken about my failure that day. I’m sure I don’t remember a word he said because I checked out the moment he stopped the exercise.

Things like this do not happen in business school.

As one of my mentors at North Carolina School of the Arts once put it. "If you can do anything else, do it."

If you liked this post check out some of my others:

Unless otherwise noted all photos used are the work of Brandon Ruckdashel or official publicity material released by the projects I have been in.

Sort:  

Maybe they should teach acting in sales school? Act like you're having a great day and always succeeding even when 10 doors have already gotten slammed in your face that day. It's s goid skill to have. Fake it til you make it!

Ah! But the first lesson they teach you about acting "The body cannot lie." Acting could help in dealing with the rejection, but likely would have you drinking much quicker lol. Thank you for the comment!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Psilous from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Theater people know how to have the most fun!

Yes, that is why we do theater...for the drinking afterward. Unless you are Russian... we drink at intermission.

Congratulations @bruckdashel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

interesting, I follow you.
You are in the industrial adult and made the theater, Impressive man.
good continuation

Thank you @anis33! I will write more soon about this and once I hit 500 followers I will do another article NSFW on my time working in late night films.

I'm interested in the adult industry, Wait to see more
good continuation

I loved working with Michelle Maylene and Jazzy Berlin. Karlie Montana was great too :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53