Nostalgic Skateboard Griptape Artwork!

in #art6 years ago

IMG_0316_v2.jpg

A perfect summary of my passions: Art, Gaming and Skateboarding!!

For almost two years now, I have been making custom griptape artwork on each new deck with a mixture of paint markers, permanent markers, and a trusty Crayola crayon. Not even kidding, crayons work seriously well for outlines on griptape lol..

The first design I made was the Piranha Plant on the Street Plant deck on the far right (seemed fitting because Street Plant = Piranha Plant, yaaa -you get it!), and ever since then I sort have just stuck with the retro Nintendo pixel art style. Luckily, the art has survived my abuse for the most part (mind the blood stain on the Triforce, and the darkslide wear on the Piranha Plant 2.0 piece lol), and I was able to get a picture with nearly the whole family!

In the future I'll be moving away from the Nintendo IP as I have had a lot of interest from fellow skaters requesting some griptape art, but I of course know full well that I just cant sell Nintendo fan artwork. It sucks having to explain to people that these particular pieces are all just for personal use, and that I cannot sell these in any commercial capacity because Nintendo is an outright jerk when it even comes to fan artists and derivative artwork, pfft (super disappointing, Nintendo!..but, understandable I suppose..). Oh well, c'est la vie!

Anyways, just wanted to share these fun pieces with you all! Wishing you all a merry Friday, and a fun-filled weekend!!

Brock Springstead | IG/FB/STEEMIT: @BrockSart

Sort:  

Love that collection! The street plant looks dope with those letters. I was thinking of doing some retro stencil patterns for my next griptape art.

Thanks dude!! Loved that Street Plant board! That would be rad!! I'm thinking of doing up stencils for my original pixel artwork too -will definitely save time not having to repaint the same thing over and over again :)

I liked your triforce grip when I saw it in your #steemskate video.
It's cool how you have a whole Nintendo collection.

Thanks Nick!! love that one too, even if pixel-Link is definitely the stuff of nightmares hahaha.

Right lol but it's classic.. back to the good ol childhood days.

Cute one ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63566.44
ETH 2483.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67