Welcome to my wonderland

in #art7 years ago (edited)


Somehow over the past three years I have gone from starting a small design label to also running a Recycled Gallery boutique in my home town. I stock work in this gallery from over seventy local artisans. This blows me away, considering I opened the doors with only my creations and the work of three other people. 




The Recycled Gallery has expanded in a gorgeous eclectic fashion to include recycled craft materials, clothes, furniture and interesting old wares. 



It is a fascinating fluid mix of product, inspiration and joy. 

I feel lucky to be able to draw so much inspiration from my own shop space and blessed that I am able to share this inspiration with my community. A customer the other day told me the loveliest words about my shop. She said 

it is homely, light and connected, humble but beautiful. 

It is truly incredible to witness something you create, take on a life of its own and grow organically. 


Life as a shop keeper is busy and this busyness can be distracting but creative minds never stop and somehow we always find a way to carve out time for artistic pursuits. This is where Pattern Pirate comes in. 

As a textile artist I am a collector (hoarder really) of vintage and retro fabric from around the world. I use it to make dreamy scarves. 



Recently this deep love for textile pattern has infused magically into my digital photography. I call this fusion 'Pattern Pirate.'  My digital art is a side project for now, a creative outlet that I treat differently to my creative business but the inspiration for Pattern Pirate comes from the delicious amazing gorgeous patterns that come through my shop door. 



Until next time, 

xx Isabella

Sort:  

Love that rustic homie feel to a shop, and yours looks stunning, where abouts in QLD?
Keep it up

Hi @tomekkk - Thank you! My shop is in The Granite Belt wine region of Queensland. About two hours south/west of Brisbane on the QLD/NSW border. It is much higher altitude to Brisbane so we get the four distinct seasons without the crazy tropical heat.

Lovely, haven't been there yet, only up north from Brisbane to soak up the heat :)
Yes I know something about four seasons, I'm from Melbourne.
Goodluck with shop and steem 😊
Will resteem you.

Lovely boutique!

Wonderful!

I am an artist too.. @secter

Thank you @secter. Will check out your feed. Artists rock!

Thanks for the very colorful post.

Very cool...I like it :)

What a wonderful world.

I love your style! The shop is beautiful.

wow, What a beautiful and inspiring shop. Smell the peace through the photos, imagine being able to visit it. I hope you continue to do well.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 31. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $22.49 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 31 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Amazing inspiring photos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29