Found Art - Magnificent Junk Creations

in #art8 years ago


I can spot a pair of tongs and a serviette holder, maybe you can identify the other pieces of marvellous trash that make up this gorgeous bird art by Nick Warfield.

I stumbled upon this treasure while picking up a coffee in Bellingen (New South Wales, Australia) for the drive home. This piece titled 'Swift' was gracing the wall in the Coffee Shop.   Made entirely from found discarded waste materials, this is my kind of art. 

I love the innovative use of reclaimed materials and creating beauty from existing resources. 

When I got home, I looked up his website and oh my goodness - his creations are utterly sensational. Seriously you need to see his giant sized bowerbird and the rest of his portfolio. Very inspiring. 

I loved his philosophy


For me waste materials present a beautiful invitation to embrace the concept of renewal and innovation. An apathy has developed for our day to  day material possessions . The idea that modern products contain this  built in obselensence is widely accepted and has resorted I think to  this devalued view of the various objects and items that we buy as  consumers. In order to be an agent of environment  change I believe one must first love the detrimental factors that are  affecting it. Waste materials must first be celebrated in order to bring  about a more sustainable perspective of what should be wasted and why  we are wasting things in the first place.

- source Nick Garfield Website

Also how cool is this coffee shop in Bellingen. Totally loving this reclaimed timber walled nook. 



Until next time, 

xx Isabella

Sort:  

Gorgeous bird sculpture.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Yes!

I love visiting shops and places like this. Reclaiming resources that would otherwise be lost to landfill is so important. People are so removed from their products and services that we treat them all as infinitely available and come at little cost. These timbers add so much to the aesthetic of the space and seeing that little metal birdy made me grin. I spotted the tongs - but that was about it! I'd probably have to hold it in my hands and inspect it more closely to see what else was used. Very creative!

Cheers,
Nick

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33