Another Use For Phantom Comics

in #art8 years ago


For the comic book collector this may seem sacrilegious but for the avid up cycling junkie (like myself) I thought this was pretty cool. My brain is throughly trained to spot a bit of innovative recycling and lucky for me (and our environment) I see it everywhere. 

Last week in Brisbane (Australia) while enjoying a pretty darn good vegetarian mushroom burger at a Cafe along Southbank Parklands, I noticed that the funky wallpaper was a collage of real comic book pages. I grew up reading Phantom comics, so I recognised some of these pages in amongst the collection. 

It is not a printed wallpaper, up close the joins of each individual comic book page is visible. 

The overall effect is striking and I love the aged colouring of the pages teamed with the inky black print. 

Another cool project to store away in the ideas brain. 



Until next time, 

xx Isabella

Sort:  

That's some darn good work there. But yes, the comic nerds are coming, they're coming for you :)

To be diplomatic, people who love comics too much to cut them up could photocopy them and do something similar.

Actually, I think they would appreciate it a lot, as long as it wasn't one dear to their heart. Downgraded comics could be used in this way, and I do like it visually.

you can technically downgrade a piece of paper by using coffee stains it works with photocopy too. I would appreciate most the original comic too though as I did recently when I was making a collage.
good work there. uped.

Very true! I doubt anyone would like to see their own comic books used this way, but we can all admire someone else doing it.

Yeah, it's a nice idea.

that is really AMAZING! and well done on the up-cycling!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44