"Got the Blues" (8x10 acrylic on paper) painting process

in #art6 years ago

Still life paintings are one of my favorite things to do, but they can easily become stiff or boring. For my first still life of the year, I wanted to do something a little different; I wanted to see if I could put together a composition that told a story.

blues.jpg

I begin every painting with a detailed pencil drawing:

WIP1.jpg

Usually my next step is to get the base color down on everything in the composition, but this time I decided to focus on one thing at a time, the first being the teapot:

WIP2.jpg

Then I started in on the background, shadows, and broken glass bits:

WIP3.jpg

Next, the bird:

IMG_3077.JPG

And here is the final result:

IMG_3090.JPG

I'm looking forward to making more work like this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49