The Pet Store Mishap - Illustration process

in #art7 years ago

octoguys-05.png
This is an illustration I did in my spare time and this is how I usually work. For those wondering this was done in an app called Procreate on the iPad.
octoguys-00.png
I start with a pencil tool. and I start doodling. I thought this guy looked funny because his head is part of the same shape as his body, usually I draw them separately.
octoguys-001.png
I drew him reacting to something so I started to wonder what he might be reacting to. Maybe his friend was being attached by something. SO I sketched in an octopus. I also realized that there had to be a reason there was an octopus on him and so I put an aquarium behind the two guys. I also gave them the same shirt and name tags. Maybe they are employees there.
octoguys-01.png
Now I start drawing the ink lines. This is is where things speed up. Getting the idea and sketch right takes some time, but now I can just go with the flow.
octoguys-02.png
Now I'm blocking in Color. Procreate makes this super easy just by dragging color into open spaces as long as they are enclosed by ink lines.
octoguys-03.png
Now I add shadows and details. I also added things to the aquarium. I try not to add to many colors or details to the aquarium. If I colored all the fish differently or something it might draw the viewer's attention to the background and away from the main characters.
octoguys-04.png
Added more details and now it's finished.

Sort:  

Excellent post! Thank you for sharing.

Congratulations @bradcolbow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45