This is Wara Art

in #art6 years ago

3E0C9A97-7F78-475D-BC41-270C3EA0E1F4.jpeg


Wara is like hay. It comes from the rice stalks that are left behind after the rice harvest.


EFD8E645-0517-4060-8CEF-529FD78D1AF9.jpeg


Wara once had many uses in Japan, from making hats and shoes to making brooms and thatching roofs.


77E2650F-4417-43B0-BF3A-B7E19D19C0EE.jpeg

A panorama of the park, taken from the playground and barbecue area near the park’s entrance.

These days, it is often left behind to enrich the soil of the rice paddies.


C5D9EEFD-3BC6-4C80-B913-56CAC422D3DA.jpeg


But sometimes it gets put to great use like this.


22AA9C71-FDAC-4838-8C40-C3892CF16226.jpeg


For more information on the annual Wara Art Festival that takes place at Niigata’s Uwasekigata Park, and for more pictures as well, please check out the following post by @kafkanarchy: https://steemit.com/unschooling/@kafkanarchy84/wara-art-in-niigata-prefecture-a-staple-of-niigata-culture

1DEFB6DD-F305-4496-800C-09B985B67E17.jpeg

A picture of the field of cosmos flowers near the park’s welcome center.

Image Credits: All images are original

Sort:  

that's very cool, I see farmers there have also learned that tourists pay better than crops.

Well, I don’t know how much the farmers benefit from the tourists, but the area definitely seems to be. Every year, I notice a new restaurant or shop of some kind opens up on the perimeter of the park. Plus, some of the local hot spring resorts are making weekend packages with bus tours to the park. It’s definitely a good thing.

you should forget rental units buy a few acres of farmland and put up a corn maze if they don't have one yet.

I’ve been in a rice maze that was similar. I bet a haunted wagon ride would be pretty popular over here.

I wasn't sure if rice was tall enough for a good maze. If they don't have that yet I bet they would go bananas for it.

It wasn’t really tall enough for adults, but it was high enough that my five year old couldn’t peak over the rows and cheat.

I think it would be really popular here too. Especially with an ice cream stand nearby.

there are a lot of farms around here really cashing in by becoming tourist traps. The hayride is good because you don't really need to buy anything, you just rent everything for the season.

When I lived in Upstate NY, I used to go to corn field/pumpkin patch every year. It certainly seemed like a big business ten years ago. I can imagine a lot of people have caught onto it and are giving it a go.

Never been there but now I have a new place which I need to check out

Never been there but
Now I have a new place which
I need to check out

                 - maxinpower


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Definitely. There’s a nice little park for the kids, and a good walkway over the pond there. Plus, this year, a farmer has put goats out to pasture near the playground, so kids can feed and pet them. It’s a great day trip.

These are 100 % awesome!!

Yeah. I look forward to this event every year!

Wow... they are huge! I can't imagine coming upon one of these in an open field and wondering how on earth it got there... lol. Might be fun though, hahaha!

Now you have a new project for all of your free time;)

That would be wild finding one of these in the middle of nowhere without explanation.

Very cool! That artwork is amazing, and the cosmos look just like some that we have grown around here.

I was trying to remember is there were Cosmos in the States or not. I don’t really remember ever seeing them in NY State, but that doesn’t mean they don’t grow there. In Japan, Cosmos are a very popular fall flower, and you can find fields of them that people visit, walk through, take pictures in, and have picnics nearby.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56