Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas: book review

in #art7 years ago


Synopsis (Goodreads)Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?The bestselling series that has captured readers all over the world reaches new heights in this sequel to the New York Times best-selling Crown of Midnight. Packed with heart-pounding action, fierce new characters, and swoon-worthy romance, this third book will enthrall readers from start to finishMy review:This was my second time reading this book. It’s no secret ToG is one of my favourite series but from the started this was my least favourite book in the series. The reason why I wanted to reread it again was because I thought I would be able to enjoy it a bit more and notice where I missed this whole Rowaelin thing taking shape. Did it work?  not that much..This book focuses on the transition from Celeana Sardothien to Aelin Ashryver Galathnius…don’t know if I got the correct spelling there. Celeana is still the sassy confident assasin we all know and love but she is in a dark place after the events from CoM. We also got new Characters- The witches working with the king, the demi fae from mistward and Rowan.When Rowan shows up you can’t help but think who the hell is this big guy with an attitude problem He was really annoying which is why the first time reading this book I completely missed the change from grumpy fae male to him swearing the blood-oath. I can say I now like him a bit more as I was paying more attention to his actions and just starting to understand him a bit more.Maeve was just annoying to me so I loved it when Celeana put her in her place. She wasn’t that present in the book but Celeana had to go through a lot of crap just to please her and I think Celeana’s mom was keeping her away from Doranelle for a reason.I did not care for Celeana’s self loathing in this book at all. All of the things she blames herself for are not her fault and they were beyond her control. Nehemia’s death was her own fault. She is the one who got it in her head that she had to die for Celeana to act. Personally I think being honest with Celeana would have been just as effective so I don’t like Nehemia at all.
Celeana’s magic is amazing. I do not care about the consequences, what she did to the valg princes was straight up awesome and is why I love this girl so much. I love that she has finally embraced her true identity and is ready to fight for her throne. you go girl!!!! as for her relationship with Chaol? I didn’t really care about that anyway.There were also some big developments across the ocean. Aedion Ashryver, Aelin’s cousin showed up and I have to say I’m in love! His showing up moved the plot along and he and the rebels made some really big discoveries. Even though it was Chaol and Dorian who confirmed it. Aedion and Aelin together would be explosive fo sho. I don’t think he should hate himself for his sins when the queen herself was working for the king…just sayin.Chaol was just Chaol, always conficted about something and trying his best to not have to decide. I literally shouted a THANK YOU!!!! when Dorian told him you can’t choose which parts of her to love. Dorian understands that and I love him for it.When it comes to Dorian well…I’m in love. He is one of my favourite characters in this series. I just love him to death. This means I don’t want to see him suffer. Ever. I was all for his romance with Sorscha and well what happened in the end. That was not supposed to happen. That part still gets me. I will not say it because I don’t want to spoil it. His power is amazing which makes him even more awesome. And he is so flirty too and Sorscha’s reactions were just so funny.
Sorscha Sorscha Sorscha. That was just horrible. Nothing else I can say beyond that.
Obviously tge king was also present. DIE YOU SON OF A BITCH!! There. That is what I think of the king of Adarlan.Now onto Manon. That scene with the spiders. I will always remember that. That was pure bad assery. This girl is quite interesting. I wasn’t really interested in the workings of the clan. All I know is Iskra needs to die. The witches are brutal but clearly Manon isn’t. Her parts weren’t always interesting, in fact this is when I would take a break most of the times. Until the scene with the spiders. That totally changed my mind. You just know when she meets Aelin/Celeana it is going to be epic. It does feel good to have more than one badass female in this story so Manon was a good addition.I felt that one of the most important parts of the book was more tell than show. The whole bond and Rowan and Aelin being carranam was just dropped on me. The bond is something I would have liked to see take shape not just Rowan mentioning that they were now bonded.I really liked how SJM developed these systems of how thungs work with the witches and also in Wendlyn. The world building in her books is never lacking so that is really good. The story is definitely well rounded.Overall this book was really good. It’s still my least favourite because there are parts where it just got a bit boring but when the actiin picked up it was always satisfying. And that end was cruel. Good but cruel. SJM is a genius and I just love how she drops hints all over the place and then when it all comes together you are just like OOhhhh. This series is a must read. Trust me, you will devour all the books in less than a month.Xx fayetino

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54