"Orange Attack" - 12"x12" oil on panel - Showing stages of the painting processsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

"Orange Attack" was painted on an archival Ampersand Gessobord with oil paints. The colors I used in this painting were Titanium White, ivory black, Phthalo blue, ultramarine blue, alizarine crimson, yellow ochre, cadmium yellow, cadmium lemon, cadmium red medium, cadmium orange, burnt umber and raw umber. I used Gamblin Neo-Megilp medium and Gamblin Gamsol solvent. Palette knives and brushes where used to apply the paint.

Orange Attack 12x12p-cr.jpg

The first stage of the process - I first wiped a light coat of burnt umber mixed with a bit of Thalo Blue with solvent to tone the panel. After that was dry, I used burnt umber to sketch the basic design.

Orange Attack WIP 1.JPG

The next stage - I painted some of the dark areas with burnt umber and put some orange in places just to see if this was going to be good design. Design is very important in a painting and I keep trying to improve my skills in this area.

Orange Attack WIP 2.JPG

The next step - I put some Titanium White in the light areas. Again, I was trying to see how the finished painting might look.

Orange Attack WIP 3.JPG

The next stage - I started painting the background with dark paint and this is what made the orange "pop" out. I used many colors in background - black, burnt umber, burnt sienna, alizarin crimson, cadmium red medium and orange.

Orange Attack WIP 4.JPG

The next stage - I got rid of the bright white at the top of the orange and made some other minor adjustments. I painted the base last as I knew how that would look and I didn't want to spend much time with that part of the painting. I signed my name with a color shaper while the paint was still wet as you can see in the first photo (finished painting).

Orange Attack WIP 5.JPG
Thanks for reading. -Bob

My Website

Sort:  

Nice explanations of stage by stage process. Looking forward to more such posts.

Thank you so much sanmi!

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Thank you so much, I really appreciate this honor!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64